Pikliz!

IMG_2628b

Perusing my blog stats, I noticed that quite a few visitors have been interested in my Haitian griot recipe.  Heck, after looking at the recipe, I was interested and decided to make some. Quel coincidence!  After I had put my pork in the refrigerator to marinate overnight, I saw a post from another blogger for griot http://saraheatsaustin.com/2013/08/26/haitian-griot/.  Lovely pictures.

IMG_2601b

In for a centime in for an Euro, I also decided to make Haitian pikliz.  Very easy, tasty Haitian condiment and perfect with the griot.

IMG_2525b

Just to put us into the mood, Jade made a tropical salad with carambola, mango, and ground cherries with strawberries for color.

IMG_2577b

We sent some over for M. Parret’s lunch :)

IMG_2552b

The above picture is misleading; there are no scotch bonnets in the griot, they were for the pikliz.  I was mislead myself until after I took the picture.  For the griot I used long green French cayenne chillies for babies.

IMG_2566b

This time, because of an annoying experience rinsing the vegetables from the pork, I cut everything into large chunks so that I could just pick them out.  Quel intelligence :D

IMG_2623b

Some stuffed veal and cauliflower peppers for M. Parret to freeze and eat later to remember me when I’m back in Germany.  Quel souvenir!

Tropical Fruit salad

2 carabola, sliced

1 1/2 cup ground cherries, husked

1 mango, diced

1 1/2 cup strawberries, halved

Juice of one lime

Mix everything together and refrigerate.

Pikliz

1 small cabbage, shredded

4 carrots, grated

1 onion, sliced and halved

2 large scotch bonnets, cut vertically into 8ths

6 whole cloves

1 tsp salt

12 black peppercorns

3 cups white vinegar

Mix everything together with your hands, then pack the vegetables into two large canning jars, topping each jar up with the vinegar juice.  Pour a little extra vinegar on top if necessary to cover the vegetables.  Screw on the tops and refrigerate for at least 2 days.

Griot

3 lbs pork shoulder, cut into cubes

2 long mildish green chillies, cut into chunks

1 large purple onion, halved and crudely sliced

2 shallots, sliced

2 large garlic cloves, smashed

1 1/2 tsp salt

Juice from 1 grapefruit

Vegetable oil for frying

Mix together in a bowl the pork, grapefruit juice, onions, shallots, garlic, green chillies and salt.   Pour mixture into a ziplock bag and massage.   Refrigerate overnight.

Pour the pork mixture into a large pot and simmer at a very low flame for 1 1/2 hours.  No need to add water.  When the pork is cooked, drain and rinse in a colander, being sure to remove the pieces of onion, chilli, etc.   Allow the rinsed pork to dry on a cutting board for about 15-20 minutes.

Heat oil in a wok or black skillet and fry pork to a golden brown.  Garnish with sliced green pepper and onion rings.

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cooking, Food and Wine, Fruit, Haitian, Main dishes, Recipes, Salad, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Pikliz!

  1. Jon says:

    Sounds delish! I’ve taken the same approach for the griots, but in one-pot style: after the pork is done and liquid evaporated I add a heaping tablespoon of lard (or olive oil for the squeamish) and let it brown. will be making a batch of pikliz, thanks for the recipe!

  2. What a lovely meal with great photos.

  3. They just got in some ground cherries at the co-op. The only time I’ve seen them is on the Food Network where they were calling them gooseberries. Don’t know why as gooseberries look and taste a lot different!

  4. Tessa says:

    All the dishes look fantastic! I’ve never seen ground cherries before…. Are they like tomatillos?

  5. abrooke65 says:

    What a meal. I like the theme. Just gorgeous.

  6. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent – the griot sounds delicious, as do the stuffed peppers and pikliz ;-)

  7. Well, that all looks pretty delicious, but I must echo MD’s comment about the Grigot. Love the pork/citrus combination.

  8. Joséphine says:

    Trés appetissant ! Bonne soirée

  9. AnotherDish says:

    Oh, scotch bonnets? I like this!

  10. My French Heaven says:

    You are making me sooooo hungry!!

  11. redrice57 says:

    Everything about this post is Fabulous with a capital F !!

  12. Conor Bofin says:

    Looks very tasty Rosemary. I love the fruit picture particularly.
    Best,
    Conor

Leave a Reply

