Bavarian Chicken Thighs

IMG_2435b

M. Parret is essentially a monovore, if there is such a word, happier when he is eating French, traditional cuisine.  Branching out for him is eating a pizza with familiar French toppings and flavors.  While the food he likes is certainly good, I find it a bit monotonous and like to expose his one note palate to a polka, or something like that :)

IMG_2291b

You can’t really overwhelm him with the irregular.  It has to be recognizable.  Chicken always works well and I just wait until he is raving about how good it is before telling him he’s eating foreign food.  Like German Bavarian chicken thighs :)

IMG_2364b

Texas potato salad is now a familiar and acceptable dish that he likes.  Sometimes, like today, I Frenchify it a bit by using cornichon instead of sweet gherkins and red bell pepper instead of pimentos.

IMG_2311b

A la attaque!  Because of the rain and cold, we ate inside the summer kitchen.  The table was set with the good placemats.

IMG_2381

Tony brought the white Clos de la Chainette that we liked last time as an apertif.

IMG_2375b

Tony and M. Parret, both being of Swiss extraction, make it a point of staring into each others eyes during toasts.  There’s a lot of that :)

IMG_2422b

For entree we had a wonderful salad with tomatoes from M. Parret’s garden.  So much flavor!

IMG_2393b

The succulent chicken thighs.

IMG_2448b

Cheese

IMG_2450b

An unexpected treat from M. Parret’s cellar to accompany the cheese; a dusty bottle of 1980 Saint Emilion.  Perfection!

IMG_2493b

A quetsch plum tart for dessert.

IMG_2502b

The tart was a joint M. Parret/Jade Mullally effort and it was marvelous!

IMG_2520b

Bavarian Chicken Thighs

6-8 large chicken thighs

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp dill seeds

1/2 tsp sage leaves

1/2 tsp fennel seeds

1/2 tsp coriander seeds

1/2 tsp dried rosemary leaves

2 tbsp dark paprika

2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

5 tbsp olive oil

Grind all the seasonings together in a blender, add to the oil and brush on every part of the chicken thighs.  Let the chicken rest for about 30 minutes, then roast skin side down in a 400 F oven for 20 minutes.   Baste with the oil from the bottom of the pan, turn and continue to roast for 15 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, German, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Bavarian Chicken Thighs

  1. The spices look amazing here. I have a whole chicken I need to break down and this would be good for it. :)

    • The Germans use this spice with a whole chicken at barbecues.

      • It’s dishes like this where I wish my sense of smell would work.

        • What happened to your sense of smell?

          • I’ve had sinus issues for most of my life, including 3 surgeries. The last one didn’t fix it. Though once in awhile I can smell something. If I’m lucky it’s food! Though sometimes it’s the cat box….

            • Certainly unfortunate missing the smell of food. Lucky about the cat box :)

            • Conor Bofin says:

              That’s an oddity. I too have had numerous sinus operations and have a pretty poor sense of smell. I wish they stopped at three operations….

              • The kicker is the first two brought my sense of smell back so I wanted the third! Very disappointed. Though it did let me breath better…

                • Hmmm…I’m going to Portland, Me in 24 days because the youngest son is having surgery on his nose due to a deviated septum. He, too, has bad allergies and breathing difficulties which we are hopeful are corrected. I hope it brings him some relief as well as normalize his sense of smell. Virginia, you and Conor are making me a bit nervous.

                  • Oh it helps the breathing! Just the last one failed to help the sense if smell. The recovery time on the last one was much faster as the techniques are better. But why are you coming all this way?

                    • Because he’s my son, lives by himself and I love him. It also doesn’t hurt that I can get all the fresh lobster and oysters I can eat. :) He also owes me a bottle of top notch bourbon.
                      He’s been wanting this done for at least 8 years but school always got in the way. Now that he is in the Coast Guard he decided it was time. Of course, he no longer lives very close to us and we promised him that when he had the surgery we would come out to make sure everything went OK. Anyone who is in surgery under a general anesthetic needs a patient advocate, and generally that person is me.
                      It’s only $268 round trip into Boston and a car is $150 for the week. So, the cost of the trip isn’t too bad. I also have clients in Boston so I will spend a day in Boston marketing.

                    • Oh I thought you were bringing him all this way. :). That makes more sense!

  2. Snippets says:

    Reblogged this on Diary and commented:
    Found something else to like about this blog – the cute placemats.

  3. Tessa says:

    Those chicken thighs look succulent! I love the combination of spice sthat you have going on there…

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    Whatever about the chicken, the Saint Emelion must have been fantastic. I can see the beginnings of brown starting to appear in the wine at the top of the glass. A usually good sign in such an old wine, in my experience.

  5. Such beautiful photos, delicious recipe and lovely bottle of aged St. Emilion. I’m very envious, indeed.

  6. AnotherDish says:

    This looks like a great combonation of spices. I love dill with poultry, and many other things — it was in a lot of dishes I had as an exchange student in Germany (Emden, Ostfriesland).

  7. Mad Dog says:

    Ha ha – sneak the foreign food in but don’t mess with the cheese and he should be happy!
    That chicken sounds delicious ;-)

  8. Thank you Dog. As long as he can recognize the animal/vegetable, he’ll give it a shot but it can’t smell agressively foreign :)

  9. lolarugula says:

    Aside from the liver, the thighs are my favorite part of the chicken and I’m always looking for new ways to cook them! I’ve bookmarked this and can’t wait to try!

  10. Beautiful meal, as always! Such a gorgeous tart too! Brava Jade! I wonder where she gets it from… :-)

Leave a Reply

