Spicy Chinese Aubergine with One Green Tomato

IMG_2159b

We ate with M. Parret again last night.  The usual; assorted pates, mussels in cognac, cheese, tarts, wine.

IMG_2033b

M. Parret still has days when he finds it hard to accept the loss of Mme Parret, but he has good days too.  Yesterday was one, when he was back to his mischievous, old French guy, slightly annoying, self!  I asked him not to look at the camera, so he did.  Annoyed, but glad too :)

IMG_2042b

Maurice made some lovely crostini to share.  Because he tries so hard not to, he always looks at the camera :D   Notice M. Parret’s new, green tablecloth!

IMG_2052b

Jade is thinking, “I can’t wait until school starts!”  Not.  More like, “I wish I had my ipad!”

IMG_2060b

Sole rillettes, pate de campagne and pork rillettes.

IMG_2076b

There was some discussion as to whether Maurice should add cognac to his mussel wine sauce.  He did and the moules were very good.

IMG_2085b

And M. Parret stretched out his hands and said, “Let there be cheese” and behold there was cheese, and it was good :)

IMG_2100b

I think Jade and I are overdoing this French food thing because this morning we both woke up with violent cravings for Asian food.

I know that there are quite a few Asian restaurants in Paris that serve real Korean, Japanese and Chinese food, but here in our little town the Asian restaurants serve Frenchified versions; Sens, because of the size of it’s population, 25,000, doesn’t really qualify as “deep country” but actually is because of it’s deep country mentality.  People here don’t really want to eat foreign foods but, being close to Paris and it’s sophistication, want to say that they have.  The clever Asian restaurants in town are happy with this because they really don’t have to bother with expensive, hard to find, authentic ingredients.  In fact, I’m sure most people here would hate it if they did serve authentic food.  This way, all the Asian chef has to do is take normal French food, stir fry it,  add a very little soy sauce and everybody’s happy.  “This is not authentic”, said no Senonais, ever.

IMG_2123b

Since the market Vietnamese lady with normal Asian food is on vacation, I decided to make a variation of one of our favorites, Spicy Chinese aubergine http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2013/02/19/spicy-aubergine-with-beef-and-sprout-stir-fry/.  I had a pretty red bell pepper that I wanted to add and a blushing green tomato from M. Parret’s garden that I included in a “why not?” manner.

IMG_2138b

Spicy Chinese Aubergine

2 tbsp sambal oelek

2 tbsp soy sauce

2 tbsp rice vinegar

2 tbsp sake

1 tbsp sugar

7 Tbsp peanut oil

3 small, narrow aubergine (Japanese if you can find them), quartered vertically and cut into chaos chunks

1 large green tomato, cut into chunks

2 tbsp garlic, minced

2 tbsp ginger, minced

1 large red bell pepper, diced

1/2-3/4 lb ground veal

Mix the sambal oelek, soy sauce, vinegar, sake and sugar together until the sugar is completely dissolved.  Set aside.

Toss the chunks of aubergine and tomato together, then fry half of them in 3 tbsp of the peanut oil until brown.  Remove the browned vegetables to a bowl and fry the other half of the aubergine and tomato in another 3 tbsp of peanut oil.  Remove this last batch to the bowl, add the remaining tablespoon of oil and fry the garlic, ginger and pepper until the pepper is just tender.  Add the veal and saute with the aromatics until just done.

Pour in the sambal oelek mixture, cover and simmer for 6-8 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Chinese, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Spicy Chinese Aubergine with One Green Tomato

  1. I have never had authentic Asian food, except Indian and possible Thai, as they have to Americanize it here. I would love to try some though. :) This recipe is right up our alley.

  2. abrooke65 says:

    What a great meal! How cool. I am a sucker for all things eggplant, so this is right up my alley!

  3. You’re craving asian and I’m craving french.. well, probably both since I’d like to try this recipe! xx

  4. Mad Dog says:

    That’s funny – I’ve eaten huge amounts of cheese, cured ham and foie gras lately. Today I had to make a stir fry!

  5. Too much of a good thing…I know about craving Asian flavours as well!
    That photo of M. Parret is most confronting :) I’m glad his heart is on the mend though I’m sure it’s still hard for him to be alone. Luckily he has friends to help him through.
    B

  6. Michelle says:

    I adore the Vietnamese restaurants in France and think they quite beautifully adapt to the French 3-course concept. But all the Chinese ones I’ve been to (even in Paris) were just, well, strange. Though I have to say not as strange as the Italian Chinese restaurants. :) Your aubergines look wonderful. And glad to see M. Parret smiling.

  7. I want to come and eat with this chap – it sounds awesome… Have me over? :D

  8. Bassa's Blog says:

    Wonderful! We have both been thinking of aubergines – I will be posting an aubergine recipe later today. The plates and tablecloth are lovely.

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    I have been cooking Chinese for many years. The real thing is so completely different from the substitute that tends to be served to us Westerners that I can confidently say very few people in this part of the world have tasted authentic Chinese food. Their loss.
    I love the red table cloth btw.

  10. That happened to me too in France. Sometimes, you just need some food with some fire!

  11. Hi Rosemary, I loved this post – makes me feel I’m not alone in deploring the fact that “exotic” food get frenchified in order not to offend the local palates :-). I think here in the South we’re even further down the line of non-authentic food than you are in Sens, so the only thing for it is DIY! Thanks for sharing that recipe!

  12. Pingback: Preserved grilled aubergine in vinegar. | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera

Leave a Reply

