Crusty, Buttery, Baked Quail

IMG_1882b

Whenever I can’t be bothered, but I want something good to eat, I go to my  “meat dredged in seasoned flour and baked in butter” standby.  Works everytime with chops or poultry and is so simple and fairly quick.  The meat comes out crusty on the outside and moist, Roger, on the inside.

IMG_1832b

I noticed four lonely little quail in the freezer yesterday and knowing how my husband is unenthusiastic about eating little birds, I thought I would clear out that space in the freezer and prepare them for myself and Jade, two enthusiastic eaters of everything ;)

IMG_1849b

While the birds were in the oven, I thought I’d just have enough time to boil a few quail eggs for the plate.  I did, but they almost didn’t make it in the picture :)

Crusty, Buttery, Baked Quail

4 quail, halved

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/2 -3/4  cup flour

A nugget of butter

Mix the paprika, garlic powder, salt, pepper and flour together in a large bowl.  Dredge the quail halves in the flour and set aside. Preheat the oven to 400 F, place the butter in a baking pan and melt it in the preheating oven.  Dredge the quail again in the flour, then place skin side down in the melted butter. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes, turn, then bake again for 15-20 minutes.  Eat hot.

Wine suggestion:  Cold, cold Chablis

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Crusty, Buttery, Baked Quail

  1. Mad Dog says:

    They must have been hibernating!
    I went to buy a load of quail on Saturday for a barbecue (they sell really big quail in Barcelona), but they’d sold out. Looking at yours makes up for it slightly ;-)

  2. What a great way to prepare quail! Better than deep frying?

  3. Rebecca Sands says:

    This looks amazing! Love.

  4. Naughty food! It sounds bloody gorgeous though – looks it too!

  5. Now I really have to find some quail. This looks wonderful.

  6. Tessa says:

    Looks delicious! I like that you baked the quail instead of frying, Did you add any dressing to the greens?

  7. This looks delicious! I love Quails!

  8. abrooke65 says:

    Holy decadent. Wow! This is some go-to. Easy, yet ..quail. Wonderful. Gorgeous pics too.

  9. These look really appetising. I may have to make do with trying this with chicken pieces though as I suspect I’ll find quail hard to come by.

  10. Delightful dish, Rosemary. I love quail and this looks like the perfect summer lunch. Do I spy 2 little boiled quail eggs in that nice looking arugula salad?

  11. smbishop says:

    This meal looks so appetizing…. ! and your descriptions yummy.

  12. Karen says:

    Baked in butter, crunchy and yummy is sure. :)

  13. So perfect, so easy, so little mess! I usually dot them with butter, but starting them in melted butter makes so much more sense. Thanks for the recipe, Rosemary! Am bookmarking!

  14. Paula says:

    Even if I’m not much of quail, so tiny bones are not my friends, my parents love it, and when I give them a quail frecipe from your blog, they always love it (this summer they made again quail in the grill, that I show them from here), so I’ll tell them this recipe, I promise!!

Leave a Reply

