Spinach

IMG_1797b

Both our children are big vegetable lovers, but spinach has never been high on their list of favorites.  They’d eat it, but with little enthusiasm.   In fact, they both said that if they had to eat spinach, they would prefer the primative, field spinach of West Africa over the varieties found in Europe and the U.S.   But then again, our son likes field corn (not sweet) roasted by rotating an ear in a large can of hot charcoal until blackened.  I wish I had a picture.

Feeling anemia setting in, I made a large pan of spinach just for me today.  This dish could go vegetarian and would be just as good without the lardons.  The quail eggs are optional but I remember my Mom serving spinach with lovely slices of egg on top.

Spinach with Lardons and Red Pepper

1/4 cup lardons

1 tbsp olive oil

2 small shallots, sliced

1/2 red bell pepper, diced

1 big bag of spinach

Quail eggs, halved (optional)

Brown the lardons in the olive oil, add the shallots and pepper, then saute until the pepper is tender.  Add the spinach in handfuls and cook just until wilted.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Spinach

  1. Camelia says:

    fantastic recipe! it looks so yummy! :D

  2. My favourite vegetable I think, so versatile. Great combo here.

  3. Janet Rörschåch says:

    Bacon makes everything better. ;)

  4. Loving this. My children will enjoy this preparation of spinach.

  5. Bassa's Blog says:

    I’m interested in the technique of roasting field corn in a large can of hot charcoal – sounds great!

  6. Tessa says:

    Your photo will make everybody want to eat spinach :)

  7. Trish says:

    I just planted spinach for my fall garden – eating fresh from the garden really spoils me for eating any other way. I love that your children even know that there is primitive field spinach in west Africa – how very cool.

  8. Pingback: Spinach with Lardons and Red Pepper

  9. Mad Dog says:

    More quails eggs ;-)
    Have you tried gulls eggs? They are delicious and horrendously expensive!

  10. Sounds delicious Rosemary. Love the idea of quail eggs here.

  11. Pingback: Spinach | Recipe ArchiveRecipe Archive

Leave a Reply

