Les Cocos de Paimpol

IMG_1690b

The very first time I had fresh beans was at Camerahols http://camerahols.com/ where I took a photography course with Roger Stowell http://stowell.wordpress.com/.  Roger had made a clear soup with herbs and white coco beans, les mogettes,  from the Vendee region of France.  What a revelation!  Since then, I’ve acquired a fresh bean obsession; borlotti, mogettes, favas and coco beans are caviar to me!

IMG_1646b

Like the mogettes of Vendee, coco beans from Paimpol cook up round, plump and firm with a creamy interior.  Cooked simply with aromatics and herbs or with the addition of smoked meats, tomatoes and spinach these beans are delicious!

IMG_1672b

I made the beans for a light supper and set aside a mini casserole for M. Parret.

IMG_1735b

For lunch we had a lovely smoked salmon salad with quail eggs!  We love quail eggs!

IMG_1751b

Anyway.

Paimpol Coco Beans

1/4 -1/2 cup lardons/bacon diced

1 tbsp olive oil

1 onion, chopped

3 garlic cloves, chopped

Leaves from 4-5 thyme sprigs

2 bay leaves

3 cups fresh coco beans

Salt and pepper

Water

Brown the lardons in the olive oil.  Add the chopped onion and garlic and cook until the onion is soft.  Add the thyme, bay leaves, beans, salt, pepper and water to cover.  Bring to a boil and cook for 20-30 minutes until the insides are creamy.

Wine suggestion:  Beaujolais

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Les Cocos de Paimpol

  1. Darya says:

    Ooooh I made a coco soup earlier this week. Like you, ever since I had fresh coco beans, I have been addicted, they are so creamy, delicious, and delicate. Your version looks delicious! I’ll try to get more at the market tomorrow!

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Your beans look fantastic – I had some great Catalan broad beans yesterday, which were probably done in a similar manner ;-)

  3. smbishop says:

    A bowl of fresh cooked beans with ham and onions – and cornbread with apple butter and a baked apple for dessert brings back memories of cool Fall and Winter days in Indiana when mom would prepare this meal.. Loved your version and picture.

  4. I wish I could find quail eggs round here. There are so many possibilities! And how fun to take a course with Roger. :)

  5. Michelle says:

    I so wish we had cocos here. Delicious!

  6. PumpkinPunch says:

    I’ll try to find fresh beans after reading this post!!

  7. Tessa says:

    Love that salad! Smoked salmon is the best!

  8. Pingback: Les Cocos de Paimpol Recipe

  9. forecastfood says:

    I am a bit of a bean-fiend too! 2/5 posts on my blog feature them (I’m new!). I always use tinned but will search for fresh next time! Lovely dish.

  10. Pingback: Les Cocos de Paimpol | Recipe ArchiveRecipe Archive

  11. I love cocos de Paimpol! Have you ever tried Patricia Wells’ recipe for them cooked in mustard sauce? Delicious!

  12. Helen says:

    Vacationing in brittany from canada and had my first coco de paimpol today. Found them in a little marche, ran to our rental lodgings and made a simple dish similar to your recipe which I just found. Absolutely the best beans ever. Now, I have to try to figure out how to bring some home. Dried? Seeds for next year?

  13. Helen Cottreau says:

    I found some seeds at the local Leclerc. I declared them at Canada Customs upon entering the country and had no problem bringing them in since the quantity was so small. Will plant them next spring.If you are in the US, I noticed that Rancho gordo stocks the Tarbais beans as well as Flageolet. http://www.ranchogordo.com
    Shipping costs to Canada make importation prohibitive, unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

