On Mange des Fruits

IMG_1390b

So many good things in the market these days, and many we haven’t tried yet.  We’ve tried red currants before and pretty much just use them for decoration.  But this is the first time we’ve seen the peach colored and the green watermelon ones.  I think currants are mostly used for making jams; they are kind of sour but great for garnishing plates.

IMG_1437b

I adore these sweet nectarines, especially when they are apple hard.  The taste is almost floral and, when ripe, these fruits gush their juices!

Today is a healthy day.  We’re eating with M. Parret tomorrow ;)

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Food and Wine, French, Fruit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to On Mange des Fruits

  1. Mad Dog says:

    You’ve reminded me to go out and pick the blackberries in the back jungle.
    Save some room for tomorrow’s cheese ;-)

  2. We love making crumbles with the currants. They are great with apples. And gooseberry/red currant jam is delicious and pretty. :)

  3. Janet Rörschåch says:

    Currants and gooseberries? You lucky duck!

    • I’ve heard it said that ignorance is bliss, but have found pretty much that ignorance is just ignorance. So that’s what a gooseberry looks like :)

      • Janet Rörschåch says:

        Well the green gems next to your white currants look like gooseberries to me, but maybe they have a different name in your part of the world. I just learned that blaeberries and blueberries are the same thing. :D

        • The sign said groseilles (currants) in French but that’s the same name used for red currants. I looked at the internet and gooseberries are called groseille à maquereau. So I guess they are all a type of groseille(currant). Who knew?

  4. Such a beautiful variety of fruits! Have you tried drying the currants for baking? They’re wonderful in scones all year.

    thesaintjeffreys.wordpress.com

  5. Karen says:

    Healthy eating is a great idea before eating with M. Parret. :)

  6. Gooseberries can be wonderful, particularly if you can find golden gooseberries that are wonderfully soft and sweet. Gooseberries in France are known as groseilles de maquereau because they make a wonderful sharp fruit sauce to cut through the oiliness of mackerel. I haven’t seen gooseberries for a long time.

  7. ….by the way, the first still life is really fab.

  8. I love a good lunch with M. Parret!!

  9. acrusteaten says:

    I’ve seen gooseberries paired with duck and pork as well here in the UK. Also made into crumbles and fools! Tart, but tasty!

  10. Looking forward to tomorrow’s post :) If I ever get back to France I would love to dine with M.Parret (and you of course!)

  11. Snippets says:

    Reblogged this on Diary and commented:
    This post. Scrumptious.

  12. Yum. I have developed a real addiction to those nectarines ever since we’ve been in France. Delicious.

  13. Paula says:

    Oh, I love that fruits!! This summer, in Switzerland I found for first time in my entire life gooseberry, and I buy some green and some red, here in Spain I never have founded.

    And, you know, they’re great for a clafoutis!! :)

Leave a Reply

