Traditional, Traiteur Flavored French Ribs

IMG_1347b

After Sunday’s Roman-like, bacchanalian, all day event, Jade and I were still reeling and not really hungry today.  We decided to buy a fresh baguette, warm the enriched, leftover soup broth and call it dining.

On the way to get the baguette, we just happened to pass by Maison Trotoux http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2013/08/09/too-old-to-travel/ and thought it wouldn’t hurt to cruise the meat counter, window shopping :)

IMG_1327b

Still not hungry, I eyed the travers de porc (meaty, French ribs)  that appeared to have been marinated in a barbecue-like sauce.  Of course it couldn’t be real barbecue sauce, not at a traditional French traiteur establishment.  Still, out of curiosity, I thought I’d take the ribs home, roast them in a slow oven and see what it was all about!  Hokey Pokey :)

I was right.  It was not barbecue sauce.  It was a sauce that makes one think of herbes de Provence with tomato sauce.  It was good, but in a non-spicy way.  French traditional.

IMG_1360b

Looked good.  Looked like a sandwich to me, so I made one.  Mache, tomato, onion, mayonnaise and baguette.

IMG_1386b

I imagine you could duplicate this flavor by using a small rolled roast.

Herbes de Provence Pork Roast

1 small rolled pork roast, about 2lbs

1/2 onion, finely chopped

1 garlic clove, finely chopped

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp herbes de Provence

1 1/2 cups tomato puree

Salt and pepper

Cut the strings, unroll the pork roast and flatten.  Set aside.

Saute the onion and garlic in the olive oil until soft.  Add the herbes, tomato puree, salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 30-40 minutes.  Allow to cool completely until stone cold.

Put the roast into a ziplock bag with the stone cold tomato sauce, squish around and refrigerate overnight.

Preheat the oven to 300 F and roast the pork for 1 1/2 -2 hours.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Traditional, Traiteur Flavored French Ribs

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Ha ha – I go to the butcher sometimes when I’m not hungry too and amazingly I find things leaping into my shopping bag, looking for a good home!
    That looks like delicious pork ;-)

  2. This looks soooooo good!

  3. Nancy says:

    I haven’t even had breakfast yet and now I can’t stop thinking about dinner…looks absolutely delicious!

  4. Janet Rörschåch says:

    That looks awesome! And I saw something like this on sale at my Ideal market. Hmmmmmmmm…… You got me thinkin’. Thank you!

  5. Your shots get better and better. First one is a belter.

  6. thefoodieteen says:

    Wow! The entire post is incredible! Thanks for sharing :) x

    Alessandra
    http://www.thefoodieteen.com

  7. abrooke65 says:

    Say it ain’t so! That is beautiful. Just gorgeous. It looks so tender! I can only imagine what the herb-based sauce did to this tender cut. Yum!

  8. ejhood88 says:

    This looks really good … I’m digging the flavors!

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    Window shopping in a butchers… I know the feeling. I’ve been there.

  10. redrice57 says:

    Oh this is sooo good…the sort of dish that makes me swoon with hungry delight….!!!

  11. Tessa says:

    Looks delish! I really like that sandwich…

  12. Bassa's Blog says:

    This is mouthwatering!

  13. Delicious! I guess the baguette and broth idea went by the wayside :-)

Leave a Reply

