Antonio Carluccio’s Fish Soup

IMG_1200b

Part I – Sunday Chez Parret

Before I went to the U.S., I was renewing my love affair with Jamie Oliver’s magazine and was especially dazzled by one of his featured chefs, Gennaro Contaldo http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2013/07/11/doing-jamie-gennaro-contaldos-italian-rack-of-lamb/.

IMG_1203b

The Dog from Mad Dog TV Dinners http://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/, was caring enough to give me a link to a TV show that featured Contaldo and another chef, Antonio Carluccio.  No big fan of cooking shows, I dutifully slogged through the first part of the show.  If Mad took the time to send me the link, it was the least I could do!  In about the middle of the show, Antonio Carluccio cooked a fish soup that was so real and appetizing that I knew I just had to make it and eat it with my favorite people!  Thanks Dog!

IMG_1234b

Thierry, the bringer of all good things and, today, a new plate and bowl.  M. Parret, who is M. Parret, the cat caretaker and the patron of 4 Americans.  Antoine, who brought me flowers.  We all came together to talk, drink and eat hard.  Les experts, quoi ;)

IMG_1228b

Pacing ourselves, we began with a little charcuterie. Antoine brought the Rully wine and it was very, very good!

IMG_1270b

To protect their Sunday shirts from the stray dribble, M. Parret and Thierry tucked in napkins, while Antoine wisely went to the kitchen for a bib apron.  So sorry I only noticed the apron at the end and missed a memorable shot :)

IMG_1263b

I couldn’t resist serving my portion of fish soup in Thierry’s soup plate gift.  With the soup I served homemade garlic croutons to thicken and enhance the broth’s flavor.  Worked :)

IMG_1136b

We had more wine, only different, fruitier.  M. Parret has a wonderful courtyard with an outdoor summer kitchen and a good sized table with umbrella.  In good weather you can not beat it for ambiance.  That’s why we always eat here :)  Unfortunately, his tablecloth and umbrella put paid to white balance.  So that’s why.

IMG_1274b

M. Parret served a lovely lettuce with vinaigrette but, encouraged by the absence of Etienne (the salad/cheese course police), I saved mine to have with cheese.

IMG_1311b

Of course the cheese was wonderful and it provided an opportunity for the obligatory finger picture, this time two fingers.  I am convinced that it has to be some well hidden French superstition about photography, like “finger in, you won’t sin”?  Something like that.  No need to be ashamed French people!  We have stuff like that too :D

IMG_1288b

M. Parret was very proud of his dessert of vanilla flan.  It was good too!

IMG_1323b

Part II – Fresh Fish

IMG_1071b

Of course, Carluccio’s soup would have been impossible without a visit to ye ole fishmonger, L’Ambiance des Halles.

IMG_1076b

I always want to buy everything but limited myself to sea bass, shrimp, scallops, monkfish and a small seabream for the stock.

IMG_1160b

I wanted rockfish for the stock but there just wasn’t one small enough.  So I made do and it was fine.  However, it does look as if I need to adjust the temperature in my garage refrigerator :)

IMG_1119b

Just 12 minutes of poaching and I had a nice rich stock and perfect, flakey fish.

IMG_1131b

Antonio Carluccio’s Fish Soup

Make the stock

1 large onion, sliced

3 large garlic cloves, peeled and smashed

2 tbsp olive oil

1 red chilli, sliced

1 tsp dried fennel

1 cup red wine

2 cans diced tomatoes

1 quart water

1 small fish, preferably rockfish

1 small bunch parsley leaves

Fry the onion, chilli and garlic in the olive oil until the onion begins to soften.  Add the fennel and continue to fry for about a minute.  Add the red wine and cook for another 1-2 minutes, then add the tomatoes and water.  Put the fish inside with the parsley, cover and simmer for about 12-15 minutes until the fish is easily removed from the bone.  Take the fish from the pot, remove the bones and skin, set aside and reserve the meat.

Make the soup

1 lb monkfish, cut into chunks

1 lb sea bass, cut into chunks

1 lb prawns

1 lb scallops

Salt and pepper

At about 2 minute intervals, add the fish to the simmering broth, 1) monkfish 2) sea bass 3) prawns 4) reserved fish meat 5) scallops.

Season with salt and pepper and cook until the scallops are just done.

Wine suggestion: Rully

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Italian, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Antonio Carluccio’s Fish Soup

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent and you’ve done an fantastic job with the recipe – that’s a beautiful soup ;-)

  2. Looks absolutely delicious!

  3. I love this post, everything from the photos to the recipe makes me want to run to the kitchen and cook!

  4. a.i.x.Arica says:

    Gorgeous photos and gorgeous food!
    –arica

  5. Karen says:

    What a flavorful fish soup. I would have loved to have shared in your delicious meal…it sounds wonderful from beginning to end.

  6. I would have gladly joined the table! Gorgeous and your soup looks delicious! I’m a big fan of Antonia Carluccio!

    • Thank you Marie. Having lived most of the time overseas, I was not aware of the celebrity chef phenomenon and am sadly ignorant when it comes to who’s who in the cooking world. That’s why it’s great when fellow bloggers throw me a clue.

  7. When I posted my mini rant about a Tuscan fish stew a little while back, THIS was what I was hoping to be served. Heavenly food Rosemary (cheese & dessert included).

  8. acrusteaten says:

    Is this from the Greedy Italians series? There were two series of it and it was hilarious and the food all looked amazing. I have the cookbook from the first series and have made a few things from it. All delicious! That fish soup looks incredible!

    • Yes, it is and thank you :) I looked for the recipes for the show at BBC, but the recipe that they had for the soup was not the same. So I looked at the video, pausing it and wrote down the recipe.

  9. Janet Rörschåch says:

    Excellent recipe. I’ve always wondered what Les Halles fish market looked like. Thank you for sharing.

  10. It looks truly wonderful, Rosemary. I love Gennaro and Carluccio. The latter has a chain of restaurants in Britain and I believe taught Jamie Oliver most of what he knows! My like button is back. Don’t abuse it.

  11. Hi, Rosemary. Great photos and great recipe. I love fish soups and stews. This whole meal looks divine. Wonderful setting, good friends, great wine and a great meal. It looks like a great time was had by all.

  12. That is a gorgeous soup. And the bread with it looks amazing.

  13. I love the picture of the fish. It looks really fresh! Would like to get some like that as well in Zurich….

  14. Great recipe! All the photos sure made me salivate LOL :)

  15. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely stuff Rosemary. That 2 finger thing is a bit strange all the same.

  16. Vasun says:

    Yum! Just a question… the dried fennel – is it the fennel seeds or the fennel bulb you were referring to? Tks

  17. Beatiful – my kind of soup! And I like the programme with Antonio and Gennaro, they remind me of my dad and his pals all grumbling in Italian to each other but really they’re having a wonderful time :)

  18. Tessa says:

    Great soup Rosemary!

  19. Some really good looking pictures. The bread in the bowl, the prep shots,,,,so many good pics. Gennaro is a good man, but the fat side kick is truly unpleasant. Good recipe, but I think it has more to do with tradition than the big C:)

  20. Wow, gorgeous soup! And you guys seemed to have had lots of fun good food :) This post and beautiful photos are making me crave for fish soup now!!

  21. Bassa's Blog says:

    Wonderful post! Beautiful photos. The poached fish looks particularly good.

  22. Republicou isso em O LADO ESCURO DA LUAe comentado:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

  23. Raymund says:

    This looks like cioppino or zarzuela, I love fish soups like this.

  24. Pingback: Antonio Carluccio’s Fish Soup | Food Overload

  25. ihatediet says:

    This reminds me of Tum Yum Soup (Thai soup) so yummy.

  26. Pingback: 9 Soups of Winter | Five Thirty Two

Leave a Reply

