Pappardelle with Beef Fillet

IMG_9798b

My Saveurs and Jamie Oliver magazines are mailed to France and I miss them when I’m in Stuttgart.  In addition, I don’t read or speak German, so the bookstores that I love are off limits when I’m there.  If it wasn’t for the internet, I’d have no life at all :)

IMG_9753b

Well I’m back in France with my magazines, I’ve bought a new cookbook and I think I’ll do Jamie for a while.

IMG_9778b

Today’s inspiration comes from the Italian issue of Jamie magazine (June 2013).  The British chef featured is Theo Randall of the InterContinental London.  I adjusted the recipe a bit but it was mostly about quantity.  You’ll have to buy the magazine if you want the exact recipe; but that’s okay, it’s a great issue.

Pappardelle with Beef Fillet

1 red onion, chopped

2 celery branches, chopped

3 huge garlic cloves, chopped

1 1/2 tsp fresh rosemary, chopped

3 tbsp olive oil

1 lb beef fillet, cut into strips

1 cup red wine

1 big ole can of peeled plum tomatoes

2 tbsp butter

1 lb fresh pappardelle, cooked and drained

1 handful of cherry tomatoes, cut in half

Saute the onion, celery, garlic and rosemary in the olive oil until the vegetables are soft.  Add the beef and continue to saute until the meat is just cooked.

Add the wine and canned tomatoes, bring to a boil, then simmer for 30-40 minutes.  Remove from flame, stir in the butter, then toss with the pappardelle and cherry tomatoes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, English, Food and Wine, Italian, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Pappardelle with Beef Fillet

  1. sylviadewy says:

    simple and amazing recipe!!

  2. Beautiful recipe – and I love getting a new cookbook and then obsessing over the recipes for a few weeks :)

  3. I love dishes like this when autumn approaches. Right now we are stuck with salads or light meals because of the humidity. But I’ll have to put this on the to try list. :)

  4. Turn up the air conditioning ;)

  5. Trish says:

    Looks wonderful, as always. I am guessing beef filet refers to tenderloin?

  6. This looks so good and hearty Rosemary. Yum!

  7. bec {daisy and the fox} says:

    this looks utterly delicious!!
    and wonderful photos :)

  8. Looking forward to more of Jamies recipes as this one looks so comforting. Take care, BAM

  9. Love this…and the “big ole can” of tomatoes it calls for! ;)

  10. Paula says:

    Here in Spain we haven’t Jamie Olivers magazines, so when I travel to Germany, I always have to buy them there, I love it!!

    I have that Jamie’s book, and I love it!! Recipes and photos! You’re going to enjoy it, I think!

Leave a Reply

