Ginger Cod with Zucchini Ribbon Salad

IMG_9251b

So much easier to make meals when everything is a 3 minute walk from the house and my favorite Cafe is on the way.

IMG_9239b

Really, I will cry when I have to go back to Stuttgart!  But right now I’m laughing everyday and, I guess that’s what counts :)

IMG_9265b

Ginger Cod with Zucchini Ribbon Salad

1 fillet of cod, cut into serving size pieces

Salt and pepper

Ginger powder

2 tbsp olive oil

2 zucchini, cut into ribbons

1/4 each, yellow and orange bell peppers, cut into thin strips

1 tsp fresh ginger, grated

1/4 cup rice vinegar

1 tbsp soy sauce

Juice 1/2 lemon

1 tbsp honey

1 tbsp sesame oil

Season the cod pieces with salt, pepper and the ginger powder and set aside.

Steam the zucchini and peppers for 3 minutes, rinse with cold water, drain and pat dry, then place in a mixing bowl.

Whisk together the fresh ginger, vinegar, soy sauce, lemon juice, honey and sesame oil, then pour over the zucchini and peppers, blending well.  Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Fry the cod in the olive oil until cooked and serve with the zucchini salad.

Wine suggestion:  Bourgogne Aligote

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Ginger Cod with Zucchini Ribbon Salad

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That sounds good – I hadn’t thought of cod with ginger before ;-)

  2. Thank you Mad. I was just going to season it with salt and pepper but I had an Asian thing going with the salad :)

  3. Ach komm’ doch, Stuttgart ist auch nicht schlecht! :)

  4. I’ll have to make your cod! It is my favorite fish and I love the idea of ginger with cod. Plus, the zucchini ribbons (looks like yellow squash too?) are fabulous. :)

  5. This looks really yummy! Do you just use a regular vegetable peeler to make the ribbons?

  6. Why did I look at this before lunch? Now I am hungry! :-)

  7. That looks perfect for summer, Rosemary! Glad to see you back in Sens :-) are you there for the whole summer?

  8. Yum what a delicious looking dinner. Looks light and full of flavour!

  9. perfectly seared!
    that’s a preety thick cod fillet
    i guess there’s someting fancy about ribbon shaved salad
    i’ve made a greek salad with ribbonned cucumber before,it has a preety impressive looks…

  10. I love cod and this looks so tasty!

  11. I wish you didn’t have to go
    Back to Stuttgart… Don’t go back to Stuttgart?

  12. redrice57 says:

    That is one sexy fish dish!

  13. abrooke65 says:

    This is gorgeous! So simple yet flavorful. I’m glad I read the comments because I was going to ask how to cut the veggies into ribbons. I’m definitely going to do that. It makes it so much more elegant than giant chunks. Fish is best when its natural flavor is barely tampered with. Good job!

  14. Conor Bofin says:

    The cod looks just perfect. I’ll bet the dish was delicious and light.
    Damn Stuttgart.

  15. This looks delightful! But I’m unfortunately allergic to soy, so I can’t use soy sauce. Would there be other great substitutes to mimic that flavor?

  16. Linda Duffin says:

    That looks absolutely delicious, very light and flavourful.

  17. Raymund says:

    Look at that wonderful piece of fish!

  18. This sounds and looks so refreshing!

  19. Michelle says:

    God’s in his heaven; all’s right with the world. (For now. :))

  20. What a nice, light meal. That cod looks amazing.

  21. Pingback: 100 Best Paleo Diet Recipes of All-Time | Paleo Grubs

  22. Pingback: 100 Healthiest Paleo Diet Recipes of All-Time | Paleo Grubs

  23. Pingback: 14 Paleo Fish Recipes for Protein and Omega-3s | Get Fit Bookmark

Leave a Reply

