Slow Roasted French Pork Ribs

IMG_9178b

On the way down from Stuttgart to Sens, we saw a sign that said Baccarat.  My husband wondered aloud if this could be the famous crystal town.  I suggested we make a detour, swearing that I didn’t want to buy anything, but was just curious.  Of course I was lying and my husband knew it, but he turned off at the exit anyway.  The foundations on which great marriages are built :D

IMG_9164b

So anyway, there’s so much eating going on around here, I can’t keep up.  Yesterday, with the gorgeous weather, we gathered around the Parret table in the courtyard and shared a Mediterranean mussel entree.

IMG_9020b

A meltingly tender veal roast.

IMG_9034b

And more potatoes from M. Parret’s garden with rosemary, garlic and olive oil.

IMG_9000b

I guess when we’re not eating, we are shopping for food.  We stopped into Noslon farm http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/09/08/noslon-farm-pork-chops-with-roquefort-butter-and-pears/ and I decided to try some of their jarred beans.

IMG_9093b

The lingots included goose fat and tasted good, but I thought that after just a few minutes of warming, they broke down more than I like.  Tasty but lacking structure.

IMG_9096b

Travers de porc are the French take on spareribs.  It took me a while to learn to cook them to my satisfaction but now I like them almost as much as normal spareribs :)

IMG_9128b

You can grind the rub ingredients in a food processor or blender; I couldn’t be bothered :)

Slow Roasted French Pork Ribs

1 tbsp salt

1 tbsp dill seeds, crushed

1 tbsp sage leaves

1 tbsp fennel seeds, crushed

1 tbsp coriander powder

1 tbsp fresh rosemary leaves, chopped

1 tbsp Spanish paprika

1 tbsp garlic powder

1 tbsp dried shallots

2 lbs spareribs

Mix all the herbs and spices together, then rub onto the spareribs.  Refrigerate overnight, then roast in a 300-325 F oven for 2 1/2 hours.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Slow Roasted French Pork Ribs

  1. Beautiful, beautiful glasses, very envious! And some more gorgeous food going on, sound slike you are in gastronomic heaven again. I bet M. Parrett is so pleased to have you around again for a little while.

  2. A town like Baccarat and you is a dangerous combination. Lovely glasses:)

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Another plus from me with regard to the glasses. All the food looks great! I’m inclined to agree with you on beans in jars and tins – they are a bit too soggy for my liking, I’d rather buy them dried and cook them in a pressure cooker – I prefer the texture and there’s always some duck or goose fat in my cupboard ;-)

  4. Love that top photo! You have such a great eye for making food look appetizing and beautiful.

  5. Yum! That looks delicious Rosemary.

  6. Caroline in San Francisco says:

    “I guess when we’re not eating, we are shopping for food.” It’s the best way to live, yes? :)

  7. Looks like you’re choosing quality over quantity then. Looks wonderful.

  8. Those are beautiful glasses, Rosemary! Glad to hear that you got yourself some souvenirs :-)

    Everything looks beautiful too. Welcome back :-)

  9. Raymund says:

    The mussels alone would be good enough for me, add those ribs to the equation this is a heavenly dish

  10. Once again you’ve succeeded in making my stomach rumble Rosemary ;) looks superb…

  11. markhardin12 says:

    Wonderful recipe! I will be stealing soon for future bbq’s

  12. Yum, I haven’t mastered ribs yet, so this looks like a great recipe to start with!

  13. slow roast until the meat is fall of the bone, nothing better!

  14. Michelle says:

    “Of course I was lying and my husband knew it, but he turned off at the exit anyway. The foundations on which great marriages are built.” Truer words were never spoken!

Leave a Reply

