Poulet Roti

IMG_8980b

On Saturday, Le Parret and Les Mullallys put together an impromptu lunch for six of rotisserie chicken from the Brest chicken man and more potatoes from the Parret garden.  I love these kind of affairs when unexpected guests arrive and we have enough to share :)

IMG_8969b

The chicken man knows his stuff and the chicken was tender, juicy and flavorful.  M. Parret decorated the chicken with dried parsley flakes from his garden.  I tried to stop him :D

IMG_8961b

Of course we had to eat forever and to begin we had radishes with butter, saucisse and rabbit rillettes that are not pictured because we finished them before, in a manner bordering on savagery.

IMG_8995b

Thierry, the bearer of all good things, including books, plates and knowledge, brought the wine,  a Chardonnay as an apertif .

IMG_8953b

I think it must be a French thing.  When anyone is taking a picture, it seems to be  important that at least a  finger is introduced into the composition.

IMG_8954b

But sometimes, a whole hand is necessary.  Whatever.

IMG_8932b

He also brought a Givry that  was so good!  Thierry has promised to drop off 12 bottles chez nous!  Having fun :)

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Poulet Roti

  1. Cynthia says:

    Wow! That is some impromptu lunch. ;)

  2. Mad Dog says:

    It looks like a slight of hand trick with the bottles. Great lunch and wines, I wish I had some rabbit rillettes :-)

  3. Conor Bofin says:

    Love it. That chicken looks fantastic. We could start a whole new category of photo. The pointing shot.

    • I swear to God Conor, sometimes I feel like beating them! I don’t know if you knew that I take all my photos manually, and by the time I get the focus right and the little beep goes off, here comes a hand or finger or they re-arrange the scene! Ho, ho , ho they say, only with a French accent.

  4. Believe it or not: I know that Givry! Excellent wine! Great post.

  5. trixpin says:

    Maybe you should bribe (or threaten) people to keep their hands out of your photos – say, tell them that you won’t photoshop them if they’re well behaved ( I know I’d respond to that one) ;)

  6. Someone knows how to serve roast chicken – looks wonderful. Great opening shot, full of atmosphere. What a great choice of wines – I love the villages such as Givry which furnish Burgundy that is both delicious and that I can afford. Lovely post.

  7. redrice57 says:

    Yep – that is a meal I would have loved to have been at!

  8. chef mimi says:

    That is too funny about the finger and the hand!!!!! Beautiful photos. Wish I could have been there!!!

  9. If only all fast food looked that good!

  10. It looks like so much fun! Good food, good friends, and good wine. Can’t ask for much else :-)

Leave a Reply

