Mexican Spicy Pork Belly with Hominy

IMG_8498b For some unfathomable reason, our landlord built a 3 level villa with heated marble floors, indoor pool, top of the line electronic blinds and awnings, however, central air and heating must have just slipped his mind!  Hello!?  Ceiling fans?  I guess not.  It was 101 F yesterday and the forecast is for low 90s for the next 2 days.  We have one oscillating floor fan for the computer room and one, not very efficient, space air conditioner for the bedroom.  The kind with the hose that you stick outside through the window. Sleepless, on sweat dampened sheets last night, I developed an irrational, considering the weather, craving for Mexican posole and/or menudo.  In the wee hours of the night, I formulated my attack plan.  “Peu importe” if I didn’t have everything I needed, I would be able to approximate the taste with my spices.  The important thing was to get into and out of the kitchen before heatstroke set in. IMG_8455b I started prepping at 6 a.m.   I stepped outside to pick some peppers and, hey wait a minute, it’s hot already!  This is not Mali, I’m in Germany now!  “Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose.”  Alphonse Karr.      Thanks Al :( IMG_8475b Anyway.    By the time I got the pot of stew to the photography table, it wasn’t the only thing dripping. IMG_8483b Sure, I tasted it and it was very Mexican and posole-like.  But I didn’t eat a bowl.  It’s too darn hot!  Maybe tonight.  At midnight or something. IMG_8514b Mexican Spicy Pork Belly with Hominy

2 lb pork belly with skin, cut into chunks

2 tbsp olive oil

1 large onion, coarsely chopped

4 garlic cloves, coarsely chopped

3 red chillies, seeded and chopped

1 tbsp smoked paprika

1 tbsp oregano

1 tbsp cumin

1 tsp chipolte chile pepper powder

3 tbsp Mexican chili powder

2 tsp salt

1 tsp black pepper

1 cup red wine

3 cups chicken broth

1 can diced tomatoes

1 tbsp chilli paste

3 cans hominy, drained

Grated cheese

Chopped red bell pepper

Chopped scallions

Chopped fresh oregano

Chopped cilantro

Brown the pork in a dutch oven with a lid.  Add the onion, garlic and chillies, then saute until the onion is soft.  Stir in all the spices and herbs and saute for 2-3 minutes.  Pour in the red wine and cook for about 3 minutes.  Add the chicken broth, tomatoes and chilli paste, bring to a boil and reduce to simmer for 2 hours.  Skim off the maximum amount of the layer of fat that has accumulated on top.  Add the hominy and continue to simmer for another 30 minutes. Top with the cheese, pepper, scallions, fresh oregano, cilantro and serve.

Beverage suggestion:  Beer

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Mexican, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Mexican Spicy Pork Belly with Hominy

  1. Janet Rörschåch says:

    That looks so gooooood!

  2. This stew really got me! I’m crazy about posole and your creation here is fabulous! I wonder how they do it in Mexico? It is piping hot there and yet they eat this type of soup and spicy beans…etc. I studied your recipe and it appears to simple. I’ll let you know how it turns out because I have to make this. Thank you! (We are still 65F here in the Pacific Northwest of the States)

  3. Great! You are right about the Mexicans, they do eat a lot of spicy, hot stews and soups. In fact, many other people in hot countries eat spicy food. I just like mine with the air conditioning on :)

    Can’t wait to see how your posole turns out. I think you’re going to like it!

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Ha ha – it sounds great, I think I’d have to eat it regardless of the heat ;-)

  5. Karista says:

    Rosemary you make the best pork belly. I adore all your pork belly recipes and this one looks just as delicious. If you ever make it to the Pacific Northwest I want you to come to my house and cook pork belly :)

  6. acrusteaten says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one kept up at night thinking up new recipes or things I want to try the next day!

  7. abrooke65 says:

    This is how I like to eat. This dish looks fabulous. I’ve been craving this flavor too for a while, but I’ve been having trouble finding hominy anywhere! I’m going to have to do a google search and order some because after seeing this I must have it!

  8. Oh my! That stew looks sensational! I love pork belly and anything spicy. Delicious Rosemary.

  9. Wonderful, Rosemary. What a great dish to get back to after my trip to Spain. Gorgeous!

  10. Some people swear a cup of hot tea helps them beat the heat. I think they are crazy. I’m with you on not eating the stew just yet. Looks wonderful though. :)

  11. Karen says:

    I remember you commenting about all the hominy you had…great use of it. I can’t believe how hot it is there. Hopefully it cools off soon.

  12. I applaud you for cooking pork belly in a cast-iron casserole in such heat! I would be wasted on the couch sipping gaspacho through a straw!

    It is absolutely incredible that it is so hot in Germany right now. So early in the summer too. I hope that this heat wave breaks soon!

  13. They say eating spicy food will make you sweat and cool off, but Lord, I couldn’t survive without air conditioning! I’d demand a refund from your landlord. The dish looks great!

  14. abrooke65 says:

    After a search of NYC for hominy, I finally found some. I made this dish tonight, unfortunately using chicken instead of pork belly (watching cholesterol), but WOW. WOW. YES. Thank you.for the inspiration.

  15. Raymund says:

    I see some of my favourites in there, pork belly, chilli and corn. Will definitely like this without a doubt

  16. Love the shot with the cooking pot. I’d forgotten that Germany can be hot – I wish it could be here.

  17. That looks delicious. Personally, would accompany it with an ice cold beer too! I find it strange we crave spicy food in the heat, but yet we do.

  18. Are you sure the house builders weren’t Spanish?! Beautiful stew…I know what you mean. Sometimes it gets so hot here and I crave a casserole then wonder what the heck I was thinking of as I melt into a puddle in the kitchen :)

  19. redrice57 says:

    And are you in Burgundy..or Germany…I’m confused!

  20. Oh, your posole sounds really delicious with a good German Beer! Opposite to you we have cold gloomy days here in Southern Califonia and this spicy stew will just right for dinner.
    Cheers,
    J+C

  21. Pingback: The P Dinner | Yummy Lummy

  22. Pingback: Pozole – Spicy Mexican Chicken & Hominy | What's Cooking

  23. Make my stomach grumbled from the very beginning reading this post….
    unfortunately it’s too damn pricey for me,
    i think 30 minutes on treadmill won’t paid it off

Leave a Reply

