Papa’s Got a Brand New Bag

IMG_8398b

When I asked my husband what he would like for his Father’s Day lunch, I expected steak, roast, or at the very least, grilled chicken.  What did he say?  Cedar planked salmon with grilled asparagus??!  Well after 37 years, this ole boy never ceases to surprise me!  And for dessert?  Not cake, pie or cookies, but instead, strawberries and cherries.  Huh.  I, of course was relieved.  I wouldn’t have to bake :)  But still….

IMG_8358b

Fresh Paradise supplied the very fresh salmon.  Thank the lord for this store!  Otherwise, I’d be depressed and have to go back to France.  Oh, wait, that’s a good thing :D

IMG_8247b

Knowing my man, I took the opportunity to empty the potato bin of whatever was there, just in case.

IMG_8275b

And yes, he did want these potatoes.  An ethnic thing.

IMG_8329b

Of course we had salad because everyone likes salad.  This time with a little goat cheese and cherry tomatoes from my garden pot.

IMG_8306b

Strawberries and cherries for dessert.  These strawberries were exceptional with a sweet, wild strawberry taste.

IMG_8415b

My new 4 cherries at a time cherry pitter :)

IMG_8421b

I couldn’t find any cedar planks, so I just used a grill pan.

Hoisin Glazed Salmon

1 whole salmon fillet, skin on

3 garlic cloves, sliced

2 shallots, sliced

1/2 inch ginger, sliced

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup hoisin sauce

2 tbsp mirin

1 tbsp sesame oil

Mix the garlic, shallots, ginger, honey, hoisin sauce, mirin and sesame oil together.  Place the fillet, skin side down, in a shallow baking pan, then pour over the marinade.  Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

Preheat the grill to 450 F, then turn off the flame on one side.  Place the salmon, skin side down, on an oiled grill pan and place the pan on the cold side of the grill.  Lower the top and grill for 20 minutes, brushing every 5 minutes or so with reserved marinade.  Move the fillet to the hot side of the grill and grill over the flame for 5-10 minutes to crisp the skin.

Wine suggestion:  Petit Chablis

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Papa’s Got a Brand New Bag

  1. Mad Dog says:

    He made and excellent choice – it all sounds delicious ;-)

  2. abrooke65 says:

    Wow delicious. I love salmon. At least he’s eating better now. Very healthy choices!

  3. Oh wow… That looks amazing! Wanna show off your cooking skills in a contest? :)

    http://lordsofthedrinks.wordpress.com/2013/06/17/lotd-accepts-recipe-challenge/

  4. Love the sound of that salmon glaze. The four cherry pitter is pretty crazy – never seen one like that. Your old man chose a good lunch.

  5. Cynthia says:

    A beautiful meal. ;)

  6. He chose well and isn’t it great that he can still surprise you!

  7. Lovely colered dish,
    i guess you’ve just fullfill your antioxidant intake requirement my friend,
    This what i called a skin food!

  8. Your husband has fabulous taste! I love this dinner (lunch). My idea of a perfect dessert is fresh fruit. Your 4 cherry pit gadget is fantastic! :)

  9. I really could have used a pitter last week. I pitted over a gallon of sour cherries last weekend. It took a while. Maybe I will have to get one of these :)

  10. Linda Duffin says:

    Clearly a man of good taste – in food and wives. Lovely meal, thanks for sharing.

  11. trixpin says:

    Oooh I love that cherry-pitter. If I got more cherries i’d have to go get me one of them ;)
    That salmon looks to die for.

  12. I bet he has way too many favorites to pick from with your culinary skills. This looks great as always.

  13. Michelle says:

    Ah, marriage… Now, where can I find one of those cherry pitters?

  14. This looks like a delicious Father’s Day feast and I’ve never seen a cherry pitter that would do 4 at a time. I think I’m jealous!

  15. Looks fantastic! That salmon does seem very fresh. But it’s the cherry pitter that I am entranced by. That is a brilliant contraption. Where did you find it?!

  16. Raymund says:

    Love the glaze you used here, nice sweet, savoury and fruity taste

Leave a Reply

