Salmon Stuffed Squid Ink Ravioli with Saffron Lemon Sauce

IMG_8195b

I’ve had some salmon stuffed squid ink ravioli in the freezer for a while.  I bought it at Fresh Paradise http://www.frischeparadies.eu/stores/stuttgart.html and have quite honestly lacked confidence in my ability to prepare this to my and my family’s satisfaction.

But when have I let that stop me, I ask?  I have no reputation to sully :D

IMG_8225b

I dithered over sauces, rejecting my feverish brain’s fashion statement, “Everything goes with black.” and had almost decided on my lemon saffron sauce http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/03/27/red-mullet-fillets-with-saffron-sauce/, but remembered that I thought it a tad bit too heavy for the fish.

IMG_8143b

I needed inspiration, and found it on the Dallas Magazine website http://www.dmagazine.com/Directories/Finished_Products/Smoked_Salmon_Ravioli_with_Lemon_Cream_Sauce.aspx with a lovely bonus of a roasted red pepper relish that has found a permanent place in my repertoire.  Note:  If you like to follow recipes exactly, please go to the website.  I changed some ingredients and quantities. Or, you can trust me. It was marvelous and goes on the “Company’s Coming” list. 

IMG_8093b

I adore the little capsules of saffron that I buy in France.  So “tout a fait” cute!

IMG_8107b

Bon appetit!

IMG_8236b

Salmon Stuffed Squid Ink Ravioli with Roasted Red Pepper Relish 

Roasted Red Pepper Relish

1 small red onion, coarsely chopped

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

2 large garlic cloves, finely chopped

1 tsp white wine vinegar

1/2 tsp sugar

1/4 tsp salt

2 roasted red bell pepper, thinly sliced

Saute the onion in the olive oil until just soft, then add the garlic and continue to saute for 1-2 minutes.  Add the vinegar, sugar and salt, then cook for 1 minute.  Add the red pepper and cook for another 1-2 minutes.  Remove from flame and set aside.

Saffron Lemon Sauce

1 1/2 cup cream

1/2 cup milk

3 tbsp lemon juice

1/2 cup creme fraiche

1/2 tsp salt

Pinch of black pepper

1 capsule of saffron

1 tbsp parsley, chopped

Blend together the cream, milk and lemon juice, then simmer for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Stir in the saffron capsule after 20 minutes.  Whisk in the creme fraiche, salt and pepper, then set aside, keeping warm.  Just before serving, stir in the parsley.

1 lb cooked salmon stuffed squid ink ravioli

8 slices of dill smoked salmon

To serve, ladle some lemon sauce onto 4 serving plates.  Top the sauce with 3-4 pieces of ravioli and garnish (Roger) with some of the red pepper relish.  Place 2 slices of smoked salmon to the side of the sauce with a lemon slice.

Wine suggestion:  Champagne

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Appetizer, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Salmon Stuffed Squid Ink Ravioli with Saffron Lemon Sauce

  1. Janet Rörschåch says:

    That is intense! What a stunning plate. Wow!

  2. acrusteaten says:

    This looks super impressive, but I guess anything with squid ink would be! I have some squid ink spaghetti, but can’t decide what to do with it? Any suggestions oh wise one?

  3. Mad Dog says:

    That looks beautiful and I’ll have to try the saffron lemon sauce ;-)

  4. trixpin says:

    Warning: superlatives alert! Those colours – FABULOUS! I’ve never had squid ink pasta but have seen it served with gorgeous pink salmon before and it looks to die for. And the red pepper relish is another spectacular addition. I have to try this some time …

  5. That is a feast for the eyes as well. Very beautiful. I’ve been wanting to do something with squid ink for a while now but I was thinking that it would look horrible and gray.
    I can’t get over how beautiful your dish looks. Well done!

  6. I think your roasted red peppers are a perfect pairing for these ravioli’s. What an impressive presentation. I can imagine how delicious this meal was.

  7. abrooke65 says:

    Gorgeous. What a rich-looking, wonderful dish. I love squid ink pasta and roasted red peppers and saffron. This is right up my alley.

  8. Karen says:

    Rosemary, I can’t believe that you would ever lack confidence in your ability to please you family when you cook. What a lovely meal you have created.

  9. kristapriest says:

    Absolutely stunning, I love the colours on the plate, gorgeous presentation, mmmm my mouth is watering

  10. This is WAW dish, pretty damn good!
    beautifull photograph too!
    what a coinsidence, i just made a squid ink sauce pasta too….

  11. Larisa says:

    Oh my, love the color combination :)

  12. Such sophisticated food and a great song! Nice and relaxing after a stressful week. Love the black tortellini, really striking.

  13. A work of art on a plate!

  14. This looks perfect…in color, texture and flavors!

  15. That’s a work of art. I still need to cook with squid’s ink.

    • Thank you Greg. I didn’t actually cook with the ink itself, I just bought fresh squid ink ravioli. I don’t know if I’d like to do the pasta from scratch. No, I wouldn’t :)

  16. You know, most people (if you’re truly not a food lover) will think food made with squid ink is disgusting. However, I feel your descriptions, your pictures, it all makes it extremely appeasing to my senses!
    -Raining Chocolate

  17. chef mimi says:

    This looks so so good……

Leave a Reply

