Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme

IMG_7968b

Every Sunday I try to make a lunch consistent with Jade’s expectations.  Last Sunday I just wasn’t feeling it and wandered around the garden humming Scarborough Fair until I was forced to act.

Thank God for all of those herbs in the garden!  I put them in everything :)

IMG_7871b

Roasted vegetables always work for Jade.  I sprinkled on some herbs.

IMG_7897b

She also never says no to fresh green beans, especially with lardon.  I sprinkled on some herbs.

IMG_7914b

No brainer for the pork fillet; olive oil, garlic and salt.   And the herbs.

IMG_7884b

A little grilling.

IMG_7943b

And voila!  Sunday lunch sorted.

IMG_7956b

Grilled Pork Fillet with Herbs

Pork

1 small pork tenderloin, about 2 lbs

4 garlic cloves, chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp salt

1 handful each, parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme, chopped

Stab the pork all over with a sharp knife.  Make a paste with the garlic, oil, salt and about half of the herbs.  Rub the herb paste into the pork and refrigerate for 2 hours.

Grill the pork, off flame, top down at 400 F for 1 hour.

Roasted Vegetables

4 large potatoes, cut into chunks

4 carrots, thick sliced

2 onions, cut into eighths

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp of reserved mixed herbs

Salt and pepper

Mix everything together and roast in a 350 F oven for 45 minutes-1 hour.

Green Beans

1/2 cup lardon batons or chopped bacon

2 shallots, thinly sliced

1 lb green beans steamed

Mixed herbs

Cook the lardon in a skillet until it begins to brown.  Add the shallots and cook until soft.  Add the green beans and toss to coat with bacon and shallots.  Sprinkle with mixed herbs.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme

  1. rathodpurvi says:

    lovely images and also the song.. loved this version of Scarborough fair :)

  2. Cynthia says:

    I have just added green beans to my grocery list for today. ;)

  3. abrooke65 says:

    Gorgeous. Garlic, herbs and Garfunkel! Pefect.

  4. fionaward says:

    You’ve made that look all so easy :) I’ve only just started cooking green beans. I’m loving them with thinly sliced garlic and butter, but I will try them with shallot and bacon next time, thank you!

  5. MixerUpper says:

    Hey Rosemary, Lunch looks great! My breakfast dish is not so elaborate, but you may find it humorous that I do the same thing: http://www.charlesprogers.com/blogs/archives/7567

    Great song…

  6. Made nice background music to reading your post! You’re onto something here! Nice dish – thank God it’s dinner time….

  7. You do it the right way – lots and lots of herbs. I hate the word garnish, and you sure don’t garnish:)

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    I well remember when it came out. Lovely looking pork.

  9. Mad Dog says:

    That’s a vision of beauty sitting on the barbecue ;-)

  10. I couldn’t live without my fresh herbs, and they are the one thing I can consistently grow with my sun or lack of it situation. What a fantastic and perfect Sunday meal came from your musical inspiration!

Leave a Reply

