Tournedos aux Champignons

IMG_8052b

I’m behind in posts and I hate that!  No, there’s no deadline or anything but, because I sort of go with the flow when I’m cooking, even when “following” recipes, if I don’t write my post the same day, things can be and have been forgotten.  And for those of you who take the time to “follow” my recipe, I want you to get the same results or pretty darn close to those that I got.  I’m posting this recipe today instead of the pork fillet with herbs that I made on Sunday because of the “whatever” way I made the tournedos sauce.  It was good though.

IMG_8078b

I bought the tournedos on my last trip to France.  I have never seen the cut in Stuttgart.  It’s nice, wrapped in a layer of fat to keep all the juices inside of the thick slice of beef fillet. You could probably get the same results by wrapping slices of fillet with bacon.

IMG_8028b

After a little refrigerator tidying, I had a handful of snow peas, a handful of fresh peas, a mini cauliflower head and some cherry tomatoes from the garden that I steamed and buttered.  A nice melange to accompany the tournedos.

IMG_7996b

Tournedos aux Champignons

6 tournedos, seasoned with salt and pepper

1 tbsp olive oil

3 tbsp butter

2 shallots, thinly sliced

1 lb mushrooms, sliced

1 cup red wine

1 cup chicken broth

1 tbsp cornstarch, mixed with 1 tbsp water

2 tbsp Madeira

Salt and pepper

2 tbsp parsley, chopped

Season the tournedos with salt and pepper and sear in a skillet in the olive oil and 1 tbsp of the butter, then place in a shallow roasting pan in a 500F oven for 4 minutes, remove and set aside, keeping warm.

Add 1 tbsp of the remaining butter to the skillet, then saute the shallots until soft.  Add the mushrooms and continue to saute for 2-3 minutes.  Add the wine and boil until reduced by half.  Add the chicken broth and boil for about 4 minutes.  Mix in the cornstarch.  Add the Madeira, salt and pepper, then cook for 3 minutes until thickened.  Stir in the remaining tablespoon of butter and cook for 1 minute.  Remove from the flame and stir in the parsley.  Spoon some sauce over the tournedos and serve.

Wine suggestion: Pinot Noir

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Tournedos aux Champignons

  1. This looks amazing! I’ve not seen tournedos in the US, but I have seen bacon wrapped fillets. Can’t wait to try this. I enjoy your blog. Your photographs are wonderful. : )

  2. fionaward says:

    Wow, I wish there was a “Love” button on WordPress!

  3. I don’t think you can get this cut in a normal butcher shop stateside. I’ve never seen it. But the dish looks wonderful. I’ll have to look for this when I’m over there.

  4. abrooke65 says:

    Wow that looks incredible. I agree, the sinning really ramps up when you add the butter. Last night I had a fish version of that dish at a British gastropub–tunaloin wrapped in bacon. Red wine on the side, sitting on a balsamic vinegar based sauce. Best. Thing. Ever. Your recipe looks mouth-watering.

  5. Mad Dog says:

    What beautiful tournedos! :-)

  6. I love your picture. What are you using?

  7. redrice57 says:

    This is grown up cooking! Super!

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely looking steak. So very French.

  9. Looks great. Another new cut/prep of meat I’ve been introduced too – thanks Rosemary. Must look out for this…

  10. Those tournedos look phenomenal! Sigh. French butchers are the best.

  11. ryansb90 says:

    I’ve not seen tournedos here in the UK either but I’m going to do some research and talk to my butcher about it! They look so good. I know exactly what you mean about getting behind on posts, it’s hard when things start to get away from you, which they have a habit of doing. Nice photos (as always).

  12. Pingback: Beef Tenderloin Medallions with Madeira Wine Pan Sauce – Karista's Kitchen

  13. Paula says:

    I love that cut of fillet!! Here I know when I can find it, I love it, and my boyfriend hates it.
    So, as he also hates mushrooms (not a good boyf, as you see), this dish is perfect only for me.
    You can be sure, I’ll try your recipe, looks really good!!

  14. Larisa says:

    Looks absolutely amazing!

  15. I adore beef fillet and it’s a great tip about wrapping it in bacon…this will have to be a “next time we’re in England” dish as we do sometimes come across good beef here but you’d need to take out a mortgage to buy it :) Your dish looks magnifique!

  16. Pingback: Beef Tenderloin Medallions with Madeira Wine Pan Sauce | Karistas Kitchen

  17. Pingback: Brochettes de Viande aux Champignons | TROPICS FOOD CHANNEL

Leave a Reply

