Beef Marrow Bones with Parsley Salad

IMG_7830x

Before we left for the strawberry festival http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2013/06/10/strawberry-festival-esslingen-germany/,  I took out some nice beef marrow bones that I had purchased on my last trip to France.  Still reeling from all the food and wine at the festival, the bones were the perfect “petit repas” for sun downers on the terrace.

IMG_7847b

Beef Marrow Bones with Parsley Salad

2 cups parsley, chopped

2 shallots, sliced

2-3 tbsp olive oil

1 1/2 tbsp lemon juice

1 1/2 tbsp capers, chopped

Salt and pepper

9-12 Beef marrow bones

Toast

Mix together the parsley, shallots, olive oil, lemon juice, capers, salt and pepper, then set aside.

Cook the bones in a roasting pan in a 450 F oven for 15-20 minutes.  Serve with the salad and toast.

Wine suggestion:  Brouilly

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Beef Marrow Bones with Parsley Salad

  1. Karen says:

    You must have been smiling ear to ear while enjoying these.

  2. These are wonderful, Rosemary, also try them cooked on the BBQ the smokiness adds an extra dimension
    Lovely photos as usual
    Cheers
    Marcus

  3. Darya says:

    Oh dear. What a wonderful recipe. I adore marrow, could probably eat it every day (fortunately, I don’t). And served with a fresh parsley salad, it sounds like a heavenly lunch!

  4. redrice57 says:

    So good to see recipes like this that focus on simple honest food – and cuts that are cheap and tasty – often sadly overlooked by many! Wonderful.

  5. Tessa says:

    Marrow bones are so delicious! I can barely remember the last time I had them… Obviously, it was too long ago. Have a great day Rosemary!

  6. Wonderful! Marrow is featured at many of Seattle restaurants, and yet I have not ventured out and ordered them! Your look fantastic!

  7. Looks wonderful. I hadn’t heard of this dish or something like it until recently when I was watching a chef show over here and it was one of the courses.

  8. nwando7 says:

    To start with, I love your plates and then your pictures are totally awesome, so clear, good job.

  9. One of my favourite dishes which I used to eat at the St.John in London When you next go to London you have to eat at the St.John, behind Leicester Square. It also has a brilliant cocktail bar, and very nice rooms should you wish to stay.- https://www.stjohngroup.uk.com/ – it’s worth going to every single part of Fergus Henderson’s empire. Also great wines – only French.

  10. Perfect – so simple, so good!

  11. Mad Dog says:

    I love bone marrow – my butcher currently has a bone marrow stick, without a bone. He’s recommending slicing little pieces off to put on top of steak while it’s resting after cooking ;-)

  12. Fantastic! I love marrow bones! Thank you too for reminding me how nice and beautiful the simple parsley salad is.

  13. I can second MD’s recommendation. I once went to a very good restaurant that served a meat course of smoked fillet with the marrow on top breaded and fried, it melted when cut. Very delicate but delicious. Another nice post Rosemary!

  14. acrusteaten says:

    I think I read about marrow mashed potatoes the other day and now here they are again! I need to get some quickly!

  15. Gorgeous. Marrow is such a fantastic ingredient, though I;d usually rather it in a soup or broth.

  16. I LOVE bone marrow. I one time had it served crostini style where you scrape the marrow as a topping. It was rich and delicious!

  17. sebbyholmes says:

    This looks great I have not eaten marrow very often for some reason? You have inspired my to cook some up myself, thanks for the great recipe

  18. Paula says:

    So funny to see this here today. Last weekend, dad bought some marrow bones, but they were a little longer than this, and were cut vertically.

    He prepared on barbecue, just with some garlic and lemon. He was the only who tried this.
    I’ll tell him how you cook them, if he wants to repeat (I’m afraid he does!!).

  19. Raymund says:

    So yummy, I love it.

Leave a Reply

