Spicy Deep Fried Sardines

IMG_7542b

I made this recipe last year, using frozen, somewhat larger sardines from Portugal http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/04/01/deep-fried-sardines/.  The ones I made today are tiny and straight out of the ocean from Fresh Paradise http://www.frischeparadies.eu/stores/stuttgart.html.  I think it made a difference.

IMG_7560b

Because of their size, I didn’t bother to head or gut them but just rinsed and fried them up brown and crispy.  Of course, the choice is yours. 

IMG_7505b

I am proud to say that the herbs and chillies came from my garden pots :)

IMG_7486b

Spicy Deep Fried Sardines

1 1/2 lb tiny, fresh sardines

1 cup flour

1/2 cup bread crumbs

Peanut oil

2 red chillies, sliced

2 cloves garlic, slivered

2 tbsp butter

3 handfuls of mixed fresh herbs (parsley, thyme, cilantro, dill, etc)

Dredge the sardines in a mixture of the flour and bread crumbs, then fry in the peanut oil until crispy and brown.  Drain on paper towels.

Saute the garlic and chillies in the butter until aromatic, remove from the flame, add the herbs and pour over the sardines.

Wine suggestion:  Cold Chablis

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Appetizer, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Spicy Deep Fried Sardines

  1. Mad Dog says:

    What nice little sardines – they are mostly quite big here. Yours look excellent ;-)

  2. Wow, amazing, they look similar to whitebait or sprats that I love, I could eat a whole plate of those with a cold beer :)
    Cheers
    Marcus

  3. Gorgeous and here they rarely bother to clean and gut even the bigger ones – the doner does that as he goes along! Lovely herbs :)

  4. That sounds excellent. Now that we have some reasonable weather, I’m looking forward to eating sardines cooked on the grill in the garden, but these little fried guys sound sensational.

  5. hum !… ça me rappelle le sud de la France !

  6. Like the others, I’ve only tried whitebait but they’re smaller. Thanks for posting this though, I’d forgotten about it! I love the mix of herbs you’ve used it must have been packed with flavour.

  7. I effing love your cooking/eating style. That’s all.

  8. Sunny says:

    Sardines are some of my favorites – these look delicious!

  9. We love sardines in our house! I wish so bad we could get ahold of some fresh ones. We get so many fresh fish here in the Pacific Northwest, but not sardines.

  10. redrice57 says:

    One of my favourite foods….fan-tas-tic!

  11. I can eat these all day, dipped in a little aioli!

  12. we used to called this as sarden goreng in Indonesia…
    nothing better that dipped in sambal( indonesian chilly sauce)

  13. Tessa says:

    A plate of these would make me so happy! Great looking sardines!

  14. Bassa's Blog says:

    I must do more fish dishes. Fish is very popular here – from tiny ones up to very large carp. I’m pleased to see that you used garlic and chillies :)

  15. Raymund says:

    The heads must be so crispy, Yum!

  16. Amber says:

    Your sardines look so fantastic! We get a similar dish at a local dim sum restaurant… I can’t bring myself to eat the fish heads (but the boyfriend is quite happy to eat the pieces I leave behind).

  17. What a great idea for my dinner on Thursday – have company coming. If the weather holds we’ll be outside and cookign sardines outside is definitely better than in the kitchen!!

  18. sylviadewy says:

    Wow! Amazing recipe. I am feeling hungry just looking at the recipe. Thanks for sharing, I am definitely going to try this one… :)

  19. Larisa says:

    What a great dish! They look like something out of my childhood :)

  20. Oh, how I miss the sardines in Europe. They are impossible to find in the U.S. Looks fabulous!

Leave a Reply

