Regular Children

IMG_7443b

I used to hate grapefruit when I was growing up.  I think most kids do because to them it tastes bitter.  I started eating and enjoying grapefruit in my early 20s.  It had started to taste sweet, in a grapefruit kind of way.  I have a completely scientific explanation for this.

When regular children are young, their parents are usually obsessed with their nutrition and, in addition to milk products, feed them kilos of fruit and their juices.  By the time the parents get around to offering grapefruit the Body says “Step away from the grapefruit, kid, you’ve reached your fruit tolerance level.”  And the grapefruit tastes bitter.

On the other hand, as your body starts it’s down hill slide towards “old” (this begins in the 20s) the Body says, “You’d better stock up old girl, who knows where the time goes?  Here, eat this grapefruit.”  And the grapefruit tastes sweet.  The older I get, the more I love grapefruit.

IMG_7345b

Anyway,  the bitter thing only happens to regular children.  Other children, the irregular ones, will eat anything edible and some that are not quite.  This is because they don’t get tons of fruit and juices, or milk.  In fact, food is a problem.  Instead of wondering what they are eating for dinner, they wonder if they are eating that day.  “I don’t want this grapefruit, it’s too bitter.” Said no Senegalese street child ever.  Everything tastes sweet.

So what’s the point?  I’m writing this because I’m supposed to be cleaning the upstairs and I’m procrastinating.  And science is fun!  So that’s why.

IMG_7482b

Sleepless in Stuttgart, I wondered if you could make cottage fries with sweet potatoes.  I fumbled for my iPad and searched;  well yes you can! http://www.cookingclub.com/Recipes/articleType/ArticleView/articleId/8310/Sweet-Potato-Cottage-Fries and I did.  I put a poached egg on top :)

IMG_7423b

Sweet Potato Cottage Fries

2 sweet potatoes, cubed

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

4 fresh garlic cloves, chopped

1 tsp fresh thyme, chopped

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

2 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped

1 poached egg, optional

Heat the oil and butter in a skillet, then add the potatoes and saute, stirring, until the potatoes have almost reached your preferred color.  Add the garlic, thyme, salt and pepper then continue to cook for about 5 minutes.  Remove from flame and toss in the parsley.  Top with poached egg if wanted.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Regular Children

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That’s funny – I did actually like grapefruit as a child, but I put lots of sugar on it – not so now, I love tart tastes, especially tequila and grapefruit ;-)

  2. Yes, our mother tried to disguise it with sugar but she didn’t “raise no fools” :D

  3. I liked grapefruit as a child, then not, then came back to liking it again, and it is quite good in cocktails, too. Love the sweet potato homefries with the egg. I made regular sweet potato fries with a chipotle mayo dipping sauce last night…which got me back on a sweet potato kick, so this may be up next! :)

  4. I thought we were going to get a post about eating more fibre to make us “regular” :) I think like Mad Dog, I ate it with sugar and thought it was the height of sophistication to have grapefruit with brown sugar on top and then grilled….
    Love the sound of those sweet potatoes.

  5. That poached egg looks as good as I’ve ever seen. The not wondering “what” but wondering “if” is such a good point to put across in a food blog. I’ve never been hungry but I’m seeing more and more people who are – if only from a distance. So badly wrong.

  6. Beautifully poached egg! It’s funny, my parents are sugar fiends and my tastes, whether due to rebellion or not, run decidedly in the opposite direction: I like savory and bitter. So as my parents were trying to force feed me Frosted Flakes, I would only eat grapefruit and shredded wheat. The kind that came in a giant log.

  7. I am so glad you were distracted from cleaning the upstairs because we got this great recipe from you! Looks so good and yes, definitely an egg on top!

  8. mmmmhhhh… This looks wonderful!! I loooove poached eggs and sweet potatoes but somehow I never combined them! Definitely gonna change this!!

  9. Trish says:

    I remember eating grapefruit with lots of sugar as a kid – I think i was mainly interested in the sugar. I have really lost my sweet tooth these days. my husband loves grapefruit but can’t eat it as it interacts badly with his blood pressure medication. such is life!

  10. I know! We used to eat halved grapefruits with the sections cut out and dusted with table sugar. No wonder the raw stuff tasted bitter! Thankfully I rounded the corner once I became an adult, too. Hardly anything better.

  11. elyann14 says:

    Haha, very true about the grapefruit!! I love the way you capture the images, really nice! I really enjoy your blog :)

  12. Michelle says:

    “Said no Senegalese street child ever.” Indeed. As it is, I love both grapefruit and sweet potatoes. And lucky enough to have always had access to both. Thanks for putting things in perspective.

  13. Karen says:

    My mother used to give us ruby red grapefruit sprinkled with lots of sugar so I enjoyed it. I love sweet potato hash…your breakfast looks delicious.

    • Hi Karen. Thank you. It’s sounds like all of our mothers really wanted us to like the grapefruit with all the sugar sprinkling going on :) Jade “mans up” and has hers plain.

  14. I’m contacting you on behalf of FastPaleo.com. You may or may not have heard of us. We’re a paleo recipe sharing site with over 2,000 recipes in our database. All recipes are submitted by paleo bloggers who are passionate about the lifestyle. We post all recipes to our page and Facebook page, and we do blogger shoutouts and cover our bloggers in our newsletters to make sure you get lots more new followers. This has worked out wonderfully for us (growing database), and for our contributors (lots more followers, sometimes hundreds of them). I would LOVE for you to contribute some of your awesome stuff to us!

    http://fastpaleo.com/post-a-recipe/

    Have a great day!
    ~Ute

  15. Bassa's Blog says:

    Hahahaha! Sleepless in Stuttgart :) The poached egg topping looks great!

  16. Amber says:

    I must have been a strange child in the eyes of my peers! I loved grapefruit and looked forward to it with our (traditional) weekend breakfasts. Bacon, eggs, toast, and half a grapefruit (I had to share the other half with my brother who also liked grapefruit). Mind you… were also fought when spinach was served if either of us thought the other got a bigger serving (another childhood favourite).

    Sweet potatoes, on the other hand, are something I’ve had trouble eating. Despite that they’re quite healthy. I’ll eat them. But I don’t go out of my way to buy and prepare them. However, your Sweet Potato Cottage Fries look amazing… especially with the poached egg on top. I’ll have to give sweet potatoes another chance.

  17. Paula says:

    Wow, I’m a little weird, but when a kid, my favourite breakfast on Saturday and Sunday included fresh grapefruit juice!! It was not the same if mom used oranges.

    Sometimes two grapefruits and an orange, but always more of the first :P
    Now, I love grapefruit… but I prefer orange!

    Love that sweet potato dish, sound really good ;)

  18. Pingback: Paleo Sweet Potato Fries Recipes

Leave a Reply

