Grilled Lamb Roast with Asparagus

IMG_7126b

I bought this lamb roast at Fresh Paradise http://www.frischeparadies.eu/stores/stuttgart.html, assuming that it was a boneless roast because it was small and round.  However, there was a bone inside.  I only discovered it yesterday when I was intending to butterfly and marinate it.  Thanks meat guy!

IMG_6976b

Still, no biggie.  On the grill there is always off flame cooking, something that I have become an expert at.  (Never end your sentences with prepositions.)

IMG_6979b

When I moved to France and my husband went on to South Sudan, I discovered the importance of my husband :  1)  Workers do not respect women and usually rip them off with a sneer on their faces.  2)  Somebody needs to take care of the car, including gas and washing.  3) Charcoal fires are best made by husbands.  4) Herb gardens are a gift from him to you because they like him and not you.  After 37 years, I guess he’s a keeper :D

IMG_7079b

I first encountered the winter cucumber in France, in the winter, and I was not impressed.  I accused the French of many things that I can’t remember now but I’m sure that one of them was not knowing a cucumber when they grew one.  Years of knowledge later, I apologize.

IMG_7006b

Gratuitous Sunday salad picture.

IMG_7015b

Whenever I’m grilling lamb I think of tzatsiki and my friend Magdoulin.  Greek/Syrian/Sudanese, married to a Kuwaiti, she always likes to put lemon in everything.  She also says, “So that’s why”, for no particular reason.  I love that :)

IMG_7061b

These days, there is absolutely no way you can go through the market without buying asparagus!  Unless you’re a hater or something equally bizarre.

IMG_7071b

I bought a German grill pan for vegetables just so that I could show it to you.  And also, of course, because I am materialistic.  Simply grilled asparagus with salt, pepper, onions and olive oil.  Good food.

IMG_7112b

Meat.  One of life’s perks.

IMG_7094b

Grilled Lamb with Asparagus

Lamb

3 garlic cloves, chopped

2 tbsp fresh rosemary, chopped

1 tbsp thyme, chopped

1 tbsp black pepper

1 tbsp cumin seeds

1/4 cup olive oil

1 3lb, bone in leg of lamb roast

Mix the garlic, rosemary, thyme, black pepper, cumin seeds and olive oil together.  Stab the lamb all over with a sharp knife, then rub in the marinade.  Refrigerate overnight.

Fire up the grill to maximum and brown the roast on all sides.  Turn off half the burners, put the roast on the cold side, put the top down and grill for about an hour.

Tzatziki

1 winter cucumber, halved, seeded and sliced

Salt

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1 tbsp chopped mint

1/2 tsp black pepper

Juice of 1 lemon

2 cups Greek yogurt

Salt the cucumber slices and drain for 30 minutes.  Dry and set aside.  Put the garlic, mint, pepper and lemon juice in a food processor and blend for about 45 seconds.  Add the cucumber and pulse on and off until the cucumber is in small chunks.  Remove everything to a bowl and stir in the yogurt.  Refrigerate until ready to use.

Asparagus

1 bunch of young, tender and marvelous asparagus spears, trimmed

3 small purple onions, cut into fourths

Salt and pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

Mix all ingredients together and allow to settle for at least 30 minutes.  Grill in a vegetable grill pan until crisp tender.

Wine suggestion:  Jenny’s Rose.  Ask Roger http://stowell.wordpress.com/

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Greek, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Grilled Lamb Roast with Asparagus

  1. TheBigForest says:

    Looks very good indeed!

  2. Bassa's Blog says:

    Your photos are particularly awesome in this recipe! Really mouth watering! I also love lamb!

  3. Looks great. We have a grill pan for veg as well, it’s a great tool. So happy it is grill season! :)

  4. Thanks for sharing this wonderful meal, very inspiring photos and recipe, I love your photography, and way you cook, it all is so fresh and tempting.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  5. Oh my word – I want that lamb so much. I love lamp. Not such a fan of cucumber… :D

  6. redrice57 says:

    Wonderful article as usual and super photos!

  7. Wonderful post. Beautiful and it looks tasty.

  8. SOO delicious…wishing it was sitting in front of me♥

  9. Succulent lamb! I love your food combination in this meal.

  10. That looks soooo damn good

  11. Mad Dog says:

    Delicious! I just had asparagus and Hollandaise, followed by roast duck ;-)

  12. Very good eating and very cool pictures.

  13. 37 years! Congratulations :) Here’s to the next 37

  14. chef mimi says:

    You are very funny! Beautiful meal!

  15. Now this is a perfect spring meal…and I could eat tzatziki all by itself any day. I should say, your husband does indeed sound like a keeper!

  16. Karen says:

    Nothing say spring like fresh asparagus and lamb….your meal looks yummy.

  17. Carol Lovett says:

    This looks awesome!

  18. goestjes says:

    Looks very fresh and tasty!

Leave a Reply

