Chicken Heart and Pepper Stir Fry

IMG_6915b

Often I buy meats, produce and condiments, without having a specific use for them, because I like the way they look.  This is part of the reason that I’m constantly in freezer, refrigerator and pantry trouble.  This wouldn’t be a problem if I were cooking for ten but, alas, I bought into the birth control propaganda in the 70’s and have never gotten over my love of pretty, especially if the colors are bright.  Most Asian dishes are bright, pretty and delicious.  So that’s why.

IMG_6947b

My husband seems to be going through a chicken innards phase.  No lover of those “nasty bits”, he surprised me by chowing down on seconds of the chicken liver chashushuli http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2013/05/24/georgian-chicken-liver-chashushuli-supreme/.  Further, you could have knocked me over with a dishrag when we were passing the poultry stall in the market and he asked if we were getting more livers and gizzards!  Well.  Opportunity banging on the door with both fists, I suggested that we also try some chicken hearts.  “Okay!”, said my husband, probably fighting off some bizarre flu and fever.

IMG_6867b

Anyway.  I had some pointy mini bell peppers that, even though they were not suitable to be stuffed, I bought because they were pretty and in a little plastic cup.  Chicken hearts with mini peppers.  Fabulous!  I did add an extra half of a leftover red pepper because it was there and didn’t hurt.

IMG_6898b

 Chicken Heart and Pepper Stir Fry

1 lb chicken hearts, quartered vertically, rinsed and drained

2 small onions, diced

6 garlic cloves, chopped

1 inch fresh ginger, chopped

2 tbsp vegetable oil

1 tbsp sesame oil

8 mini bell peppers, cut into coarse cubes

1/2 red bell pepper, cut into coarse cubes

2 tbsp sambal oelek

1 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp salt

2 tbsp sake

2 tbsp soy sauce

1 handful coarsely chopped cilantro

Wok the onion, garlic and ginger in the oils until the onion just starts to soften.  Add the chicken hearts and stir fry until just cooked.  Add the peppers and stir fry for about 2 minutes.  Stir in the sambal, sugar, salt, sake and soy sauce, then allow to bubble away for about 3 minutes.  Remove from the flame and stir in the cilantro.

Beverage suggestion:  Stolichnaya

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Chicken Heart and Pepper Stir Fry

  1. Mad Dog says:

    You know I’d love that one ;-)

  2. Jon says:

    wow, great! and good call with the voddy. I will definitely try this one even if I’ll be the only one eating them. I throw chicken hearts on the grill occasionally, previously marinated in vinegar or lime juice or sour orange with some habanero, thyme and allspice and skewered. Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. This sounds wonderful, and I can almost smell it cooking… I truly do love chicken hearts, and serendipitiously, I just bought some yesterday, frozen. I am not familiar with sambal oelek, but if I can find it in my nearby Asian market, let me know, and I’ll do. (Otherwise, I’ll adapt.)

    As a small child, I remember always asking for the heart to be reserved for me, when the parents cooked up a whole chicken. (Almost) better than chocolate.

  4. fionaward says:

    I have never tried chicken hearts. How do they taste? Are they like other offal, like kidney?

  5. reggiorif says:

    Looks yummy! …I really like your posts with more unusual ingredients. ;)

  6. Actually i’m not a big fans of chicken innerd,
    but your dish make me want to craving and digging on it,
    great color too!

  7. Karen says:

    You have been very creative lately and it seems your dishes are being well received. :) This sounds very flavorful.

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely dish Rosemary. The colours are spectacular.

  9. I’ve never heard of, nor considered chicken hearts as an ingredient so thanks for the enlightenment! Would also be good in the usual offal preps (pate/terrines etc) I guess?

  10. Raymund says:

    I really love your meat dishes!

  11. Bassa's Blog says:

    Exquisite photography, as always. I’m pleased to hear that your husband is an offal convert! :) We bought chicken gizzards today – the cat loves them :)

  12. beautiful pictures!

  13. Michelle says:

    Tooo funny! I actually love chicken hearts, but have never had them any way other than (Southern) fried. Will have to branch out.

  14. Amber says:

    Love the way you’ve cooked the chicken hearts so many great colours and flavours! I strongly believe that, if you eat meat, that none of the edible pieces should be wasted. This tends to work out well for me financially because offal meats tend to also be more affordable. Heart meats are some of our favourites. I also like to use chicken hearts in stir frys. I also recently make burgers with ground beef heart. There’s so many wonderful things you can cook with offal meats!

  15. Pingback: Beware the chicken heart! Not. | templeofthetongue

Leave a Reply

