Noix de Joues de Porc au Char Sui with Chaos Fried Rice

IMG_6847b

Pork cheeks.   Char sui pork cheeks.  It sounds better in French.  Tastes good in/on any tongue.   With recycled, fried California brown rice.  Frugal and lazy.  That’s how I feel today, lazy.  I never feel frugal, it just happens :)

I think the char sui cheek medallions would have been even better on a grill but I couldn’t be bothered.  I marinated them and plunked them into my roasting/rack pan.  They were delicious.

IMG_6822b

Must be the weather, maybe the latitude longitude or maybe the kitchen’s  feng shui needs adjustment.  I know the sink does.  Whatever.  I feel better already :D

IMG_6819b

Char Sui Pork Cheeks with Chaos Fried Rice

Pork

6 medallions of pork cheeks, about a pound

1/2 cup prepared char sui marinade

Put the pork in a zip lock bag with the marinade and massage, then refrigerate for at least 2 hours.  Remove the pork from the bag, reserving marinade and place in a roasting pan with a rack.  Preheat the oven to 400 F, place the pan in the oven and cook for 40-45 minutes, turning and basting with the reserved marinade every 15 minutes.  Cool for 5 minutes, then slice.

Rice

2 shallots, coarsely chopped

1/2 red bell pepper, coarsely chopped

3 tbsp olive oil

1 cup snow peas, sliced into fourths

2 cups cooked brown rice

2 eggs, beaten

2 tbsp soy sauce

Hard boiled egg halves, optional

In a skillet, soften the shallots and pepper in the olive oil, then add the snow peas and continue to cook for 1 minute.  Add the rice and cook for an additional 3 minutes.  Shove everything to the side of the skillet, add the eggs, scramble, then mix the eggs into the rice.  Pour over the soy sauce and blend well.

Serve with egg halves if desired.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Noix de Joues de Porc au Char Sui with Chaos Fried Rice

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Delicious – I love pig cheeks :-)

  2. That meat looks wonderful. I need to get some pig cheek stat!

  3. Jon says:

    wow, does that look good!

  4. redrice57 says:

    Now that looks seriously awesome…..great idea!

  5. Darya says:

    I adore Pig’s cheeks! What a nice recipe!

  6. I love pig cheeks and these sound wonderful in any language!

  7. Janet Rörschåch says:

    Wonderful recipe. I love pork cheeks. Now I’ve got to see if I can find them here in Boulder.

    • Hi Janet. I always think of Boulder as a boutique kind of town. Don’t you have butchers, cute bakery shops, designer vegetable shops, sidewalk cafes? All I remember is the Hoover dam.

      • Janet Rörschåch says:

        Oddly we have half the things you said and then no butcher shops or vegetable shops. There are sidewalk cafes, lots of coffee. It is a foodie town, but, with only 100,000, there are things we just don’t have. It’s not as big of a foodie town as Los Angeles. Oh, the vegetables I could get there.

  8. we used to called this char siu in Indonesia….
    i love that you using the pork jowl or land scallop, my fave cut!

  9. I love char sui fan. I have not yet had it with pork cheeks. Looks delicious.

  10. Raymund says:

    That a nice part to make char siu of.

  11. Bassa's Blog says:

    It looks absolutely wonderful!

  12. Tessa says:

    Looks delish! I love the name of the rice :).

  13. nwando7 says:

    My goodness! I love your blog, its the best food blog I’ve seen in a long time. I have already saved it on my favorites. Said it before and saying it again, your pictures are so nice, could you give me some tips as I have a blog too. Also, you cook and plate so well, are you a Chef? Sorry I know…too many questions but I cant help myself, still dazed on stumbling on such a beautiful food blog. Well done!

  14. Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thanks

Leave a Reply

