Saturday: Roasted Aubergine with Cumin Vinaigrette and Randomness

IMG_6412b

I drove my new/used Fiat to the market today for the first time with my husband braking all the way :D  Such fun!  I haven’t driven for over 7 months and driving has never been my forte, so it was wild ride :D

IMG_6471b

Anyway, I was looking for one of my beef rib posts from Sens when I found an absolutely scrumptious eggplant dish I had made for a noon lunch.  Eggplant went on the shopping list for the Saturday Farmers’ Market.

IMG_6363b

It’s such a simple recipe.  You just halve and score the eggplants, salt, drain, dry and sprinkle with fresh thyme, then roast in the oven for 30 minutes.  So little time for such a great taste!

IMG_6388b

Waiblingen has a pleasant town center for the market place, with lots of old houses and buildings, some dating from the 1600s.

IMG_6349b

One of my favorite stalls was selling beautiful kohlrabi.  I’ll have to buy some soon.

IMG_6322b

I liked it that this lady’s wallet matched the strawberries :)

IMG_6329b

Fresh bread and cheese is a gourmet meal.  With or without M. Parret’s butter.  With.

IMG_6345b

Feeling vaguely inadequate and wimpy after realizing that many of my co-bloggers (http://rufusguide.wordpress.com/) not only cook their food but plant and harvest their vegetables as well, I bought some yellow gardening gloves and a potted cherry tomato plant so that I could say to the world, “I too have cultivated.”  Inadequacy banished!

IMG_6365b

In Sens I regularly bought young green sprouts for salad and I’ve missed them a lot.  Today I found some very nice sprouts of German varieties.  So pleased!

IMG_6437b

They looked so good that I thought we could have them plain with a little vinaigrette but was vetoed by the Fam.  So that’s why.

IMG_6448b

Last night I marinated some beef flanken ribs in a marvelous Asian marinade I had thrown together for a barbecue in Villiers-Louis for Pentecost/Memorial Day http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/05/28/beef-ribs-macaroni-and-cheese-memorial-daypentecost/.  Having gardened with only the roasted aubergine to sustain me, I threw the ribs on the barbie for an early dinner.

IMG_6486b

Mah-velous!

IMG_6508b

These babies were perfectly cooked, rare to medium rare.  You should have seen the way we ate!  No, maybe you shouldn’t have :)

IMG_6519b

Recipe for rib marinade on above link.

Roasted Aubergine with Cumin Vinaigrette

2 eggplants

Salt

Dried or fresh thyme leaves

Parsley, chopped

Halve the eggplants vertically and score in a diamond pattern.  Sprinkle with salt and allow to rest for about 30-40 minutes, then gently squeeze to eliminate the accumulated water.  Dry with a paper towel, then sprinkle with thyme leaves and roast, cut side down, for 30 minutes in a 400 F oven.  Serve with the parsley and vinaigrette.

Cumin Vinaigrette

Coarsely chop a large garlic clove and a shallot, toss into blender with a pinch of salt, 1/2 tsp cumin and 1 tbsp lemon juice, then pulse until the vegetables are minced.  In a stream, with motor running, add 3 tablespoons of olive oil until you have a thick, creamy emulsion.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Saturday: Roasted Aubergine with Cumin Vinaigrette and Randomness

  1. Fay says:

    Your food photos are always wonderful, but today my mouth is literally watering. Time to make lunch!

  2. Cynthia says:

    What a story! I’m not a big eggplant fan but you’re inspiring me to give them another try especially with that vinaigrette. ;)

  3. charferg says:

    That meal looked so delicious.

    Also, I love me a good market, looks like you had a lovely day.

  4. I love eggplants! And cumin is one of my favorite spices. I imagine this is delicious!

  5. kristapriest says:

    My mouth is watering yum

  6. Everything looks so FRESH and delicious. The roasted aubergine halves look so inviting!
    Can’t get enough of fresh salads.

  7. Good luck with your tomato growing adventures, you’ll surely get a green thumb and experiment with many more fruits and vegetables, space permitting!! I can vouch for this, growing your own is highly addictive :)

  8. Bassa's Blog says:

    We love Eggplant here in Georgia! Delicious pictures, as always! I have only recently returned from a visit to the UK and have lots of catch up to do! Oh, how I missed Georgian food! :)

  9. Love the little Fiat – nearly as much as the pictures of the aubergines. Fab pics.

  10. Raymund says:

    I love how simple this is, I may look like it but with that vinaigrette on the side it would taste really nice

  11. Great little car and the shot! Great recipe too – have been reading Claudia Roden’s Arabesque this morning and it’s packed with aubergine recipes…and now you’ve added another to my list of “must cook soon”!

  12. Mad Dog says:

    I looked at the first picture and thought, “Wow, great aubergines”, and then there was so much more! The market looks very lovely, as does the town. Those leaves look quite spectacular and what delicious ribs ;-)

  13. That eggplant preparation looks wonderful. I am going to have to try that soon.

    And congrats on cultivating!

  14. Pingback: Saturday: Roasted Aubergine with Cumin Vinaigr...

  15. Having only recently discovered how wonderful cumin is in a vinaigrette, I’ve now decided it would be amazing on anything…and on these aubergines, yum! It all looks wonderful and those strawberries (and the wallet) in the market are stunning.

  16. Caroline in San Francisco says:

    Hi Rosemary,
    A long time lurker here. I love the way you write — so breezy and fun to read. (I could just picture your husband braking in the passenger seat while you drove the car. :) I also love the way you just put ingredients together and create amazing & beautiful looking meals. Thanks for sharing your wonderful, foodie life!

  17. Looks absolutely wonderful! The photo of the cheese made my mouth water too! :)

  18. redrice57 says:

    Wonderfully enjoyable article, great photos and fab recipe!

  19. More gorgeous photos. That is a fabulous house.

  20. Everything about this day and dinner just looks GREAT! Wish I could have been there….

  21. Pingback: Yogyakarta On My Plate | The Great Dorset Vegetable Experiment

Leave a Reply

