Georgian Chicken Liver Chashushuli Supreme

IMG_6291b

I’ve wanted to make chicken liver chashushuli since the recipe was published in March https://georgiaabout.wordpress.com/2013/03/11/about-food-chicken-liver-chashushuli/, but I’ve just gotten around to finding some nice fresh chicken livers.  Right next to the livers were some gizzards and of course I couldn’t resist, and why should I?  Adding gizzards would only make the chashushuli better, or supreme :)  So that’s why.  Sorry Bassa.

IMG_6315b

I knew that the gizzards wouldn’t be cooked and tender in the time it took to cook the livers, so I precooked the gizzards with bay leaf, onion and chicken broth before adding them to the marinade.

IMG_6254b

One “souci” was that I didn’t have any barberries, so I substituted dried cranberries soaked in lemon juice.  I know, not authentic, but determined.  I love the Georgian free and easy way with bay leaf!  My mother was like that.  This was a very good lunch, but you have to wonder how it would taste with barberries.  Please see link above for authentic recipe and just to visit this incredibly interesting site about Georgia.

Georgian Chicken Liver Chashushuli Supreme

1 lb chicken gizzards, halved

1 bay leaf

1 thick slice of onion

2 cups chicken broth

Salt and pepper

1 lb chicken livers, halved

1/2 cup white wine

2 tbsp white wine vinegar

2 scallions sliced

3 bay leaves

1/4 cup chopped dried cranberries soaked in 2 tbsp lemon juice

2 onions, sliced

3 garlic cloves, sliced

1 tsp coriander

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

4 tbsp olive oil

Simmer the chicken gizzards with the bay leaf, onion slice, chicken broth, salt and pepper  for 1 hour.  Drain, cool completely and put inside a mixing bowl.  Add the chicken livers, wine, vinegar, bay leaves, dried cranberries with juice and scallions.  Refrigerate for 2 hours.

Remove the livers from the refrigerator and pour into a wok, cooking on medium high heat until the liquid is reduced by half, about 10 minutes.  Add the sliced onions, garlic, coriander, salt, pepper and olive oil, then fry for an additional 10 minutes until the onions are cooked.

Top with onion slices and chopped cranberries.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Georgian, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Georgian Chicken Liver Chashushuli Supreme

  1. Janet Rörschåch says:

    What a fascinating recipe. Thank you for the link. I know so title about Gorgian food. Looking forward to exploring.

  2. I’m just discovering Georgian food and I think I like it :)

  3. Jon says:

    looks great, but it’s one of those things that I would end up eating alone! (wife and kiddies not big on innards…) I love making gizzards in salsa verde, kind of the same procedure with the precooking in stock and then the gizzards finish in the salsa.

  4. fionaward says:

    I love liver, so underrated. Thanks for the recipe!

  5. That sounds amazing, am a huge fan of chicken livers and I save them up (just for me) when it’s time to “despatch” our chickens…then I feast on them. Will have to bookmark this recipe for my next “feast”!

  6. Interesting recipe – what are barberries? I remember a feature on the cookery of Georgia, years ago in a Sunday Times Colour Supplement. It was about the healthy lifestyle and diet that brought about the amazing longevity that many Georgians enjoy, The diet also includes a great deal of red wine:)

  7. Norie says:

    Love chicken liver !! Here in the Phils. we just cook it adobo style, with bay leaf and soy sauce. Will try the recipe at home. Looks delicious !!

  8. Mad Dog says:

    Gésier de canard are my favourite, but I wouldn’t turn down chicken – I bet they were delicious with the livers. You’ve reminded me of going to a Brazilian restaurant where they served plates of chicken hearts – you know I ordered one ;-)

  9. Looks delicious. We love chicken livers!

  10. Michelle says:

    Supreme indeed! I love livers and gizzards. Unfortunately, my husband does not. So I seldom make them. But next time I do, this is it.

  11. I’m not familiar with Georgian cuisine, but this recipe looks like an easy and accessible introduction to both Georgian cuisine and to offal. I love eating offal, but haven’t summoned up the courage to cook it yet.

  12. That looks wonderful! I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Georgian recipe before, but now I wonder why. Bay trees grow like weeds here so I use them a lot, and duck hearts, yes, they’re delicious!

  13. this looks most delicious, I adore liver, I wish more people enjoyed it!

  14. Conor Bofin says:

    Excellent stuff Rosemary. I am planning a smooth chicken liver pate over the next couple of weeks. They are greatly underrated.

  15. Bassa's Blog says:

    I am so pleased that you tried this one! It is one of my favorites :)

  16. Pingback: Chicken Heart and Pepper Stir Fry | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

