Crispy Duck Legs with Spinach Ragout

IMG_6250b

Back from 3 days in the mountains, I needed to address some refrigerator issues; a bag of spinach, a tomato, a bell pepper, 1/2 of a red onion and parsnips.

IMG_6197b

I “stepped away” from the bacon and made a nice ragout with just the spinach, bell pepper, onion and tomato.

IMG_6212b

In an overflowing freezer, I grabbed the package closest to the door and got a nice duck leg surprise.  Tajine?  Yes.

Crispy Duck Legs with Spinach Ragout

Duck

2 duck legs, seasoned with salt, pepper and Jamaican allspice

1 tbsp ghee

1 lb parsnips, peeled and sliced

5 shallots, halved

2 large garlic cloves, coarsely chopped

2 bay leaves

5 sprigs fresh thyme

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1/2 cup chicken broth

1/2 cup white wine

In a skillet, brown the duck in the ghee, remove to a plate and set aside.  Remove all but 1 1/2 tbsp fat from the skillet, add the parsnips, shallots, garlic, bay leaves, thyme, salt and pepper, then cook until the parsnips are lightly browned.  Place the vegetables in the bottom of a tajine and pour the broth on top.  Place the duck legs on top of the vegetables and pour over the white wine.  Cover and roast in 400 F oven for 1 hour.  Remove the cover and continue roasting for 20-30 minutes until the duck is crispy.

Spinach

1 bell pepper, diced

2 garlic cloves, sliced

1/2 red onion, coarsely chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

1 bag baby spinach

1 tomato, seeded and diced

Salt and pepper

Saute the bell pepper, garlic and onion in the olive oil.  Add the spinach and quickly cook until wilted.  Remove from the flame and stir in the tomato, salt and pepper.

   

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Crispy Duck Legs with Spinach Ragout

  1. Jon says:

    Have mercy, please! looks delicious.

  2. Now doesn’t that look so much more appetising than that plate of fries (?) you showed us yesterday! I bet you really enjoyed making and eating this :)

  3. I’m off out for dinner tonight and duck is on the menu – you’ve just made my mind up for me :) Looks delicious.

  4. I’m so happy you posted this today! My 15 year old son was just asking me if I could make some duck someday. I think I’ll do this recipe for him this weekend. Look fantastic! (I bookmarked it) I’ll let you know how it turns out! :)

  5. Trish says:

    so, I’ve never cooked duck before, but have one in my freezer. I have looked up cooking methods, but am still nervous. would you suggest that I cut it up, or cook it whole?

  6. Michelle says:

    Parfait. And the perfect antidote to your recent experience. :)

  7. Karen says:

    Your meal sounds delicious…the parsnips had to be so good with the juices from the duck.

  8. Another great duck dish. Thanks for posting!

  9. Raymund says:

    That indeed looks crispy! Look at that skin.

  10. Bassa's Blog says:

    Crispy duck is wonderful! Great photos!

  11. You “stepped away” from the bacon?! Noooo! ;-)

    Joking aside, this looks wonderful as always. I am constantly amazed by your ability to pull restaurant quality meals out of whatever you find in the fridge and pantry!

  12. Pingback: Recyclable spinach bag | Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a military household

  13. i just bookmarked this recipe!
    i want to diggin into my laptop monitor now….
    finger licking good!!!!!

Leave a Reply

