Bavarian Chipolte Poussin with Sweet Potatoes

IMG_6005b

Sunday lunches are my favorites because Jade is here and it seems more like a family meal.  Cruising the Saturday market in Waiblingen, I stopped at a stall of a poultry farmer.  His eggs and poultry looked “correct” and he had some lovely little poussins (spring chickens) that I just had to buy.  Normally, I would insist on poussins from France but I guess you have to let go someday.  We’re in Germany now.

IMG_5930b

Because they were German poussins, I decided to go with the Bavarian seasoning with a slight variation.  I had some ground chipolte pepper and added that for excitement :)  Good idea.

IMG_5942b

I still haven’t reached my comfort zone in German farmers’ markets but I know a good sweet potato when I see one and immediately thought of a tajine family favorite, honey mustard sweet potatoes.

IMG_5954b

Salad with vine ripened tomatoes.  Yes.

IMG_5974b

A perfect meal!

Going to Garmisch, Germany tomorrow for a couple of days.  Let’s see what we’ll eat!

Bavarian Chipolte Poussin

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp dill seeds

4 fresh sage leaves, coarsely chopped

1/2 tsp fennel seeds

1/2 tsp coriander seeds

1 sprig rosemary leaves, coarsely chopped

1 tbsp smoked paprika

1 tbsp ground chipolte

1 tbsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

5 tbsp olive oil

2 poussins (spring chickens), butterflied

In a blender or whatever, grind the salt, dill, sage, fennel, coriander, rosemary, paprika, chipolte, garlic powder and onion powder together.  Add the olive oil and brush onto the poussins.

Preheat the grill to 500 F.  Sear the poussins on both sides, turn off the flame on one side of the grill and place the poussins on the “cold” side, skin up, top down for 40-50 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, German, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Bavarian Chipolte Poussin with Sweet Potatoes

  1. You certainly know how to put a delicious-looking meal together!

  2. Gorgeous food as ever, Rosemary. Love the Bavarian twist!

  3. Paula says:

    Honey mustard sweet potatoes?? I love them!! I cooked them when I made your honey mustard chicken, and were heaven. If mind serves me, the recipe I’m talking about was yours :P

    I love those small chickens (picantones, we call them), my mom loved preparing them. Now, she does also, I suppose, but I’m a little far, I dare.

    Your menu is fantastic, some salad, a good side dish with potato and roasted!! As you say, perfect meal, even if the poussin is not French ;)

  4. fionaward says:

    I am craving that plate of food!

  5. Karen says:

    I had to smile at the title…bavarian and chipolte are two words you don’t think about together. :) Your photos are outstanding and such a nice sounding dish. We enjoyed Garmisch this past fall, especially the old town…I think you will enjoy it.

  6. I love how you decided to use Bavarian seasoning because they were German poussin! This looks like an outstanding dinner.

  7. Looks damn tasty. And great photos as usual!

  8. Gorgeous food, Rosemary!! And I’m very jealous that you’re going to Garmisch ;-). If you have time pop over to Murnau and say hello for me. Am off to look through your blog for the honey mustard sweet potatoes now..

  9. Such a nice chicken dish…
    shame on me, i thought that all bavarian roast using junuper beriies for the rubs…
    i’m a huge fans of sweet potato too,
    actually i prever the peruvian but my grandmas like the regular sweet potato…

  10. Tessa says:

    You grilled those birds nicely! Lovely meal Rosemary!

  11. This looks fabulous. Bookmarked for later reference. Thanks for sharing.

  12. Looks beautiful Rosemary. And I understand what you man about letting go…I’m at that “don’t quite know where I am right now” stage! Stunning photos.

  13. Nice spicy flavourings for the poussins and the sweet potatoes make a great accompaniment. I’m not sure what the difference would be between French and German poussins, but I should think local is best.

  14. Raymund says:

    That poussin skin looks so tasty! So nice.

  15. Bassa's Blog says:

    It looks absolutely delicious!

  16. What beautiful birds! Good to liven things up more with a little Chipotle :-) That’s an American for you!

  17. Pingback: Paleo Menu: 23 Grill Recipes — A Girl Worth Saving

  18. Linda Viera says:

    What’s the recipe for honey mustard sweet potatoes? Sounds delicious!

  19. Pingback: NetNewsledger.com - Steak with Sweet Peppers, Sweet Potatoes and Red Onion

Leave a Reply

