Mogettes in the Jar

IMG_5778bI absolutely crave fresh beans like borlotti, fava and white kidney beans or mogettes.  I had resigned myself to waiting until late summer for the bean season when I read a post by Roger Stowell with a lovely photo of mogettes that he bought in a jar http://stowell.wordpress.com/2013/04/26/you-can-tell-a-book-from-its-cover/.

IMG_5739b

I’ve seen those jars many times in supermarkets and fine epiceries but, only familiar with canned beans, I lacked the confidence to try the jarred kind.  Roger, as well as an incredible photographer and teacher, is a good discerning cook and if he used a jar, that looked like a green light to me.  What I like about mogettes is that, when cooked, they have firm outsides and creamy insides.  I should have asked Roger where he bought his.

I should have gone to an epicerie.  The best looking jar of beans I could find in the supermarket had a mushy look before I even opened them.  Right away I resolved to add lardon (bacon) which cures all, leeks and garlic. If this was to be a soupy potage, at least it would taste good.  It’s cold and rainy anyway.  Slightly annoyed.

IMG_5749b

Anyway.  After I drained and rinsed the beans, they looked okay.  Firm but splitting.  In order not to have “Things Fall Apart”, I cooked the broth first and then just warmed the beans in the broth.  This worked very well and the beans were delicious.

IMG_5764b

Mogettes in the Jar

1 jar good quality mogettes, drained and rinsed

1/2 cup lardon/bacon, diced

2 tbsp olive oil

1 large leek, chopped

3 cloves garlic, chopped

1 bay leaf

2 cups chicken broth

Salt and pepper

10 cherry tomatoes, seeded and diced

Brown the lardon in the olive oil, add the leek and garlic, then saute until the leek is tender.  Add the bay leaf, broth, salt and pepper, then bring to a boil and simmer for about 15 minutes.  Add the beans and simmer on a very gentle flame for 10 minutes.  Stir in the tomatoes and enjoy.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Mogettes in the Jar

  1. fionaward says:

    What a delicious and healthy looking meal. I’m going to be trying this!

  2. Jon says:

    Yeah, there are a few Spanish brands available here in mex that are reliable, in a jar not canned. Lentils, white beans, chickpeas, etc. In a pinch they work well (and quite often are on sale).

  3. You are a brilliant cook. So observant and knowledgable! We share the same palate.

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    Very nice indeed Rosemary. I’ll have to wait for warmer weather for my bean salads. It’s how I like them.

    • Hi Conor. I will be in the U.S. for a few weeks starting the middle of July, arranging our house in Pennsylvania. I will also take this time to ferret out the organic farms in the area. Hoping to see some fresh beans there. If not, I’ll be back in France for the bean season and will definitely make some bean salads :)

  5. It’s cold here in Sydney and a dish like this is perfect for a chilly night! Yum

  6. Thanks for the kind words – really appreciated. A word to the wise – buy the beans in goose fat that are sold in big silver tins.

  7. Raymund says:

    This is like a posh version of the pork and beans :)

  8. Delicious. I’m finding I’m eating beans and pulses more and more these days as a side or as a salad. So good for you too.

  9. Tessa says:

    I will look for the jarred beans… Hopefully I will find them. I want to try this soup. Have a good day Rosemary!

  10. I used to buy beans in a jar in France, but I was picky about them. The good thing about jars, unlike cans, is that you can at least get a good look at them.

    This looks delicious, Rosemary! Good idea to cook the broth separately too.

Leave a Reply

