Sun Dried Tomato Pesto

IMG_5726b

Back in the day, probably in West Africa, I saw a fantastic photo of sun dried tomato pesto in one of my magazine subscriptions; Gourmet, Bon Appetit or Food and Wine.  I wanted to make it so badly, but sun dried tomatoes were not available where ever it was I was living.

IMG_5641b

I copied down the recipe and filed it in my Hotmail with other “I wish I could” recipes.  There are some great recipes in that file!  It’s like Christmas!

IMG_5660b

Unfortunately, I was having one of those days and the only thing I wanted to make was the pesto.  Nothing else, just the pesto.  Eat it plain out of the bowl? Pesto on bread?

IMG_5703b

Okay, okay I had some fresh pappardelle and used that but it did seem like an effort in the beginning.  It felt like I HAD to cook and not like I WANTED to cook.  Don’t you just hate that?  It might have had something to do with the pasta pot and strainer that I knew I would have to wash afterwards.  I am a resentful dishwasher.  But it’s over now and the kitchen is clean :)

IMG_5619b

This morning I WANTED to make something from the leftover quail eggs, salsa and vegetable medley of yesterday and it was fun and good.  I just put some of the vegetables in the bottom of a ramekin, sliced the hard boiled quail eggs on top, sprinkled on grated cheese, reheated it in the microwave and dolloped on salsa.  Fantastic!

I made a few changes to the pesto recipe but I forgive myself :)

Sun Dried Tomato Pesto

8.5 oz jar of sun dried tomatoes in oil, drained

1/4 cup pine nuts, toasted

2 tbsp roquette, chopped

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1/2 cup olive oil

1/4 cup Parmesan, grated

Chop the tomatoes, pine nuts, roquette, salt and pepper in a food processor, then with the motor running, add the olive oil in a stream.  Put into a bowl and stir in the cheese.  Serve with fresh, cooked pasta.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Sun Dried Tomato Pesto

  1. Cynthia says:

    I have a friend who loves to make pestos. Looking forward to eating this on some toasted bread. ;)

  2. Mad Dog says:

    That looks like a great pesto!
    I can remember reading “A Year in Provence” when I lived in Atlanta. It was summer and very hot – the book gave me real craving for Pastis – it took me all day to find a single liquor store that had a bottle of Pernod. I had to pay top dollar for it too ;-)

  3. Nice idea. When summer comes – when – I’m going to sun dry some tomatoes so that I can have some of that pesto for next winter. Maybe the winters will just join up in the end and I’ll have to make rutabaga pesto.

  4. cecilia says:

    I am in a pesto phase at the moment and I LOVE sundried tomatoes, i so wish i could make my own, but I certainly can buy them because I most definitely am going to be making this one, into my file it goes (copied out in a scribbly hand and popped into a big old cigar box.. I might be here a while, now where is that scribbly hand!?) have a lovely day.. I

  5. Great idea for a recipe. I’m always looking for new twists on pesto. I will give this a try soon. Nice blog post.

  6. camakit says:

    Wow, what a great idea! I’ve always thought about what kind of pesto I can make that doesn’t only involve green herbs/veggies. Gonna try this asap :)

  7. trangquynh says:

    lovely recipe, thank you for sharing it, it’s such a perfect, fresh, light and healthy treat for the summer :)

  8. My favourite type of pesto – such a fantastic and dense flavour!

  9. iassakka says:

    I love the way you present your recipes, just as if they were a story. Great blog. Great job.

  10. Karen says:

    You certainly are eating well…both dishes look wonderful.

  11. simply perfect. love this combination of ingredients. so easy, yet so flavorful. I also love the wide pasta!

  12. elyann14 says:

    Pesto on bread might not be that bad! ;) It looks delicious, I just stumbled upon your blog and oved it straight away, looking forward reading more!

    Have a lovely day!

  13. I don’t mind a bit of pesto on bread ;) This looks great!

  14. bec {daisy and the fox} says:

    these look delicious! and wonderful photography! :)
    pesto – here, there, anywhere! all time favourite!

  15. Tessa says:

    That pesto is would be awesome spread over some crusty bread…. Simply delicious!

  16. Paula says:

    I love all kinds of pesto, althought I’m a classic, my favourites are basil or dried tomato pesto.

    I like this pasta, cherry tomatoes makes fresh, even if the pesto is always a bit heavy.

  17. Pesto is wonderful, basil or tomato!

  18. Pingback: Kale Pesto | Andrea's Garden Cooking

  19. Pingback: Grilled Italian Sausage and Peppers with Tomato Pesto | Cooking in Sens

  20. Pingback: Not Quite Sun-Dried But… | Rebekah Lyn's Kitchen

  21. As I sit here staring at a mountain of basil pesto that is going in to the freezer (it’s been a banner year for basil here), I am thinking that if I make some of this and freeze it as well, I will have some divine Holiday host gifts. Homemade, from the garden, and red and green to boot, what could be better than that?

  22. Just what we are looking for. Thank you for sharing this with us here party catering Sydney . Please continue sharing your stories, events, celebrations, thoughts and ideas. We enjoyed reading it. Hoping for your next update to be posted soon with dozen of photos so that we can also witness them. Thanks, more powers and god bless. :)

  23. Hi! It’s really nice to pay a visit on your blog. Thank you for sharing with us this recipe. I love to try this at home for my family during gatherings. Have a blessed day. Greetings from my Finger Food Catering Adelaide More Power :)

Leave a Reply

