Blackened Wolf Fish with Herb Roasted Fennel

IMG_4967b

It must have been a hard winter here in Stuttgart because I am so pleased to see the Spring vegetables, fruits and herbs!  I have my monthly e-mail list for May of the fruits and vegetables in season in France, I picked up my French Saveurs and my Jamie Oliver magazines from the house, bought some supplies and am ready to roll!

IMG_4995b

My husband is cruising in a military jet somewhere over West Africa which means I can have fish everyday if I want to, and I just happened to have some lovely wolf fish fillet from Fresh Paradise :)

IMG_4910b

Fennel is in season and it is so good roasted!  See new plate.

IMG_4928b

When everyone was “blackening” everything, I was completely out of the loop overseas and never tried it, so I did today.  Quick and easy!

Blackened Wolf Fish with Herb Roasted Fennel

Fish

1 1/2 lbs wolf fish fillet, cut into serving size

Melted butter

Creole seasoning like Emeril’s essence

Dry the fillet pieces a dip into the butter, then coat with the creole seasoning.  Blacken the fish in a cast iron skillet, 2 minutes, turn, 2 minutes, turn, 2 minute.

Fennel

2 bulbs of fennel, trimmed and sliced vertically

1 small onion, cut into 8 wedges

2 garlic cloves, slivered

1 tbsp fresh oregano, chopped

1 tbsp fresh, basil, chopped

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

Mix everything together and roast in a 400 F oven for 15 minutes, then stir and roast for another 15 minutes.

Wine suggestion:  Bourgogne Aligote

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Blackened Wolf Fish with Herb Roasted Fennel

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I’d love to try wolf fish – it’s supposed to be delicious. Sadly it’s not popular in England, so you don’t often see it.

  2. perfectly charred !
    everything with roasted fennel gets even better!
    Great combo…..

  3. I have a feeling – tell me if I’m wrong – that your wolf fish is in fact loup de mer, which in it’s turn is Sea Bass. A less dramatic name, for sure, but it means MD can get hold of some without having his arm bitten off:)

  4. It all looks great and I’m sure tasted that way too

  5. I have never even heard of wolf fish here in the states, could you recommend a similar alternative? The dish looks wonderful!

  6. I can just feel your excitement :-) Looks wonderful, Rosemary! Always good to see what you do with fish. And lamb. And duck :-)

  7. Looks great – i’ve never had wolf fish. Does it have another name?

  8. Janet Rörschåch says:

    Love how you did the fennel.

  9. Raymund says:

    This is the first time I heard of wolf fish. I will be on the hunt for that.

  10. You are endlessly inventive and always have the best meat and fish around.

  11. Bali Tour says:

    It’s amazing
    Thanks for the great recipe :)

Leave a Reply

