Shinae Robinson’s Tajine Caramelized Pork Belly with Lady Fingers

IMG_4777b

Shinae Robinson is a cook that I’ve friended on Facebook for maybe over a year.  She makes wonderful Vietnamese/Korean/Asian/American food.  I constantly salivate when I visit her page.  So why didn’t I know she had a blog?  Duh.  I really don’t know.

IMG_4744b

Whatever, I know now and am “poaching” yet another of her recipes.  Originally she made this pork dish on the stove top http://ridiculoushungry.blogspot.de/2011/06/short-little-vietnamese-ladies-their.html but also suggested mixing all the ingredients in a tajine, putting the top on and letting it cook.  I was good with that and it worked for me.  As Shinae promised, the pork belly skin was fork tender.

IMG_4626b

I had a cute little 1 kilo pork belly from Fresh Paradise.

IMG_4646b

This mixture smelled so good!  Thank you Shinae!

IMG_4610b

Once I start doing one Asian inspired dish, it seems that I’m off and running.  I did have some young, fresh okra in the refrigerator and a wicked, yellow chilli!

IMG_4723b

The Bangladeshis call okra lady fingers.  Isn’t that charming?  :)

IMG_4665b

I did have some quail eggs that I hard boiled and tossed with a couple of tablespoons of sambal oelek.  They were quite good, pretty and spicy!

Shinae’s Tajine Caramelized Pork Belly with Lady Fingers

Pork Belly

2 -2 1/2 lb pork belly, cut into chunks

4 cloves garlic, finely chopped

1 scallion, chopped

1 small onion, sliced

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/8 cup fish sauce

2 tbsp soy sauce

2 tbsp white wine vinegar

1 cup of water

Mix all ingredients together and let sit for an hour or so.  Place the mixture into a tajine, cover, then cook in a 350 F oven for an hour.  Remove, stir, then continue to cook for another 30 minutes.  Take out of the oven, stir, then replace in the oven, uncovered, for 15 minutes at 400 F.

Lady Fingers

1 tbsp soy sauce

1/2 tsp sugar

1/2 inch ginger, finely chopped

2 large cloves garlic, finely chopped

1 tbsp peanut oil

1/2 – 3/4 lb of young, fresh okra, thinly sliced diagonally

1 yellow chilli, seeded and thinly sliced

Mix the soy sauce and sugar together and set aside.  Cook the ginger and garlic in the oil until they begin to brown.  Add the okra and chilli, then saute for 1 minute.  Add the soy sauce mixture and saute for 2 minutes.  

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables, Vietnamese and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Shinae Robinson’s Tajine Caramelized Pork Belly with Lady Fingers

  1. Lovely – am emptying ,my freezer prior to moing at the end of the week and I’m sure there’s a pork belly in there!

  2. This looks fantastic! I grew up on okra! My mom breaded and fried it though… :/ I have been wanted to make pork belly but it always seems so….intimidating. This looks pretty do-able. Except, do you think this could be done without a tajine?

  3. I adore pork belly and this looks sensational! Lovely post Rosemary. I just want to bite into that pork belly!!! :D

  4. Oh, my! What a beautiful dish! Pork belly is one of my favorites and your version looks outstanding.

    daisy

  5. Tessa says:

    Fabulous dish! I love okra but unfortunately I’m the only one our home that does. A wickedly hot yellow chili? What variety of chili is that?

  6. Fantastic! I’ll have to take a look at it, this looks amazing, Rosemary. You’ll be glad to know I have a recipe for yaki udon going up in the next few days – after you proclaimed to love fresh udon noodles!

  7. Michelle says:

    Do you do carry-out? :) That looks absolutely divine. And, yes, the lady fingers name is terrific.

  8. Raymund says:

    My favourite pork part, belly. Love the fat and meat combination on this one

  9. I can taste it from here :) . Lovely colors in that dish too. Kudos to Shinae too of course!

  10. And these make me salivate!

  11. What a lovely surprise to check my stats and find this post! My recipe does not do your beautiful photography justice, but I will take it. BTW, that might be some of the most beautiful pork belly I have ever laid eyes on. I’ll bet it tastes amazing.

    Thanks again for such a wonderful and generous writeup. I am smiling so big right now. :)))

Leave a Reply

