Herbed Pork Roast with Pears

IMG_4597bb

I got the cutest little pork roast at the butcher’s the other day!  Normally, this is a piece he cuts into pork chops but try as he did to slice it for me, I insisted on having it whole, thinking about the grill.

IMG_4447b

On Saturday I paid a visit to Fresh Paradise for vegetables/fruits, imported meats and glorious, fresh fish.  I really like this store!  I found some purple potatoes that I’ve been wanting to try, fresh fennel, parsnips and “les Poires William.”  So pretty.  I usually get these pears at an apple farm not far from Sens.

IMG_4520b

This was a mah-velous Sunday lunch, ending with “a coffee” made by my husband and Italian biscotti.

IMG_4418b

Pork Roast with Pears

Roast

2 1/2-3 lb bone in pork roast, fat scored and poked all over with a fork, seasoned with salt and pepper

1 tbsp fresh rosemary, chopped

1 tbsp fresh thyme, chopped

1 tbsp fresh sage, chopped

1/4 cup olive oil

Mix the herbs together with the oil and rub into the roast.  Roast the pork on a 450 F grill, off flame, for 1 1/2 hours, top down.

Pears

4 pears quartered and cored

1 really large onion, cut into eighths

2 tbsp melted butter

2 sprigs fresh rosemary

Salt and pepper

Mix the ingredients together and roast in a 425 F oven for 20-30 minutes.

Wine suggestion:  Brouilly

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Herbed Pork Roast with Pears

  1. T says:

    I’m going to try this!:)

    Gods love

  2. Tessa says:

    Great pork roast!

  3. Pork and pears, a wonderful pairing, cooked and photographed to perfection.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  4. bepcity says:

    Your photos are so nice. This looks wonderful!

  5. I love roasted pears. This looks fantastic.

  6. Victoria says:

    This looks beautiful and delicious! Looks so elegant…a perfect Sunday dinner!

  7. Beautiful looking roast! Love the idea of pairing pear with pork –yum!

  8. Oh, what a great idea! I like pears much more than apples.

  9. I normally team up pork with apples however the pear and onion combo look wonderful, I’ll have to try this next time. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Pork and pears. This sounds as a perfect pairing. Your photographs are gorgeous.

  11. Gorgeous, Rosemary. I love pork – we’re going to buy some pork belly this weekend. Can’t wait!

  12. i don’t know savory dish with anjau pears seems so fancy for my eyes….
    ypu did right with the prime pork roast…
    btw, i would love to make a sauce from the pears and porks roast gravy

  13. Love this…and the rosemary with the pears, delicieux!

Leave a Reply

