Roasted Parsnips, Mushrooms, Romano Beans and Crispy Fried Fish

IMG_4239b

A blog site that I follow, Our Growing Paynes,  http://ourgrowingpaynes.wordpress.com/2013/04/23/roasted-mushroom-and-parsnip-ravioli/ gave me wonderful idea for what to do with my aging parsnips and mushrooms that were giving me bitter looks in the downstairs refrigerator and my loving, friendly romano beans that were just happy to see me.

IMG_4178b

Thank you Virginia, this is a new family favorite :)  In the freezer section I had a couple of packages wrapped in white paper that I thought were duck breasts but that instead turned out to be mystery fish.  The texture of the fillets were somewhat like skate but not, maybe they were just dry.

IMG_4266b

Anyway, deep frying conquers all and I experienced a happy moment of nostalgia when I used the Abdoulaye strainer method for draining the fish.You just take a vegetable strainer, line it with paper towels and set it on top of a plate to catch any excess oil.

IMG_4258b

The home made tartar sauce with my French cornichons http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/the-perfect-fish-cake-with-homemade-tartar-sauce/ was fabulous as always.  Make some!

IMG_4268b

Roasted Parsnips, Mushrooms and Romano Beans

1/2 lb parsnips, peeled, halved vertically, then sliced

1/2 lb mushrooms, thickly sliced

1/2 lb romano beans, cut into thirds

3 large garlic cloves, cut into fourths vertically

1 tbsp fresh rosemary leaves, chopped

1 tbsp fresh oregano leaves, chopped

1 tsp lemon juice

Salt

Pepper

3 tbsp olive oil

Mix all ingredients together then roast in a 425 F oven for 15 minutes.  Remove, stir and return to the oven, continuing to roast for another 10 minutes.

Crispy Fried Fish

1 1/2 lb white fish fillets, cut into serving size and seasoned with salt and pepper

1 cup flour

1/2 cup bread crumbs

Peanut oil

Mix the flour and bread crumbs together and dredge the fish fillets in the mixture.  Fry in the peanut oil until golden brown.

Wine suggestion:  Muscadet

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Roasted Parsnips, Mushrooms, Romano Beans and Crispy Fried Fish

  1. Cynthia says:

    I love the idea of deep frying conquering all. Look forward to trying this dish. ;)

  2. Oh this looks lovely! Thanks for referencing me as well. That’s always appreciated! :)

  3. Lovely and i have no fear of frying, so would definitely make this!

  4. I can’t believe it – a recipe that would get past the La Moussiere customs post:)

  5. IRENA says:

    Looks yummy and I am definitely trying that combination!

  6. Janet Rörschåch says:

    Parsnips and mushrooms, two of my favorites!

  7. Mmm that ALL looks good! I have have mystery fish in the freezer too, which I’d use, but the date of freezing is also a mystery :(

  8. ‘Deep frying conquers all’ – spoken like a true American :D. Looks great though, Rosemary.

  9. This meal looks amazing Rosemary. I especially dig the fried fish –yum!

  10. Bassa's Blog says:

    I’m pleased to see that you added a wine suggestion – great idea!

  11. Raymund says:

    Nice to see a non meaty dish in here. Love it

Leave a Reply

