Texas Chili Beans

IMG_4064bb

My mom taught me to make chili beans.  The major difference in this recipe and hers is that instead of a ham hock, I used a chopped cup of my never ending baked ham.  My inspiration to make chili beans today was from Anne at Uni Homemaker.  She made a gorgeous chili cheese dip http://unihomemaker.com/2013/04/22/chili-cheese-dip/ that set me off on a chili bean craving .  I had also been lurking around Georgia About, drooling over his bean (lobio) dishes http://georgiaabout.wordpress.com/2013/04/05/about-food-lobio-with-nuts-%E1%83%9A%E1%83%9D%E1%83%91%E1%83%98%E1%83%9D-%E1%83%9C%E1%83%98%E1%83%92%E1%83%95%E1%83%96%E1%83%98%E1%83%97/, so something had to be done!

IMG_4152b

Texas Chili Beans

2 cups kidney beans, soaked overnight.  Reserve water.

1 large onion, chopped

4 large garlic cloves, chopped

1 large tangerine colored bell pepper, diced

2 tbsp olive oil

1 lb ground meat (I used pork because that’s what I had.  Do what you want)

2 bay leaves

2 tbsp chili powder

1 tbsp smoked paprika

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp coriander

1 cup cooked ham, chopped

1 16 ounce can diced tomatoes

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

Saute the onions, garlic and bell pepper in the oil until the onion is just soft.  Add the meat and continue to saute until the meat is no longer pink.  Add the bay leaves, chili powder, paprika, cumin, oregano, coriander, ham and saute for one minute.  Add the beans with reserved water, tomatoes, salt and pepper, bring to a boil then simmer for 2 1/2 – 3 hours, stirring occasionally and adding water if necessary.

Serve with warm flour tortillas or hot water cornbread http://recipesforsustenance.wordpress.com/2010/12/27/hot-water-cornbread/.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Texas Chili Beans

  1. Bassa's Blog says:

    You have me drooling now! :)

  2. Lovely – I had cravings last week and made it too…your recipes is gorgeous, especially with the ham.

  3. Rosemary, that looks delicious! I’m going to have try this recipe –YUM! Thanks for the shout out! :)

  4. Wonderful – good to see a classic American dish here, Rosemary :D

  5. mad Dog says:

    I’ll need a bigger bowl than that!

  6. This looks terrific, Rosemary! Sometimes I have chili beans and they’re sweet, which is gross. Not yours though :-)

    • Thanks Daisy. That’s because there is sugar added to practically everything we eat in the U.S. The generation who grew up with this, think that there’s something wrong or unpalatable if things are not sweet. I went to a chili cook-off at the Marine House in Senegal once and everyone of the chili dishes were sweet except for mine. Bleah! Also, I didn’t win.

      • It all started with my parents’ generation putting marshmallows in the sweet potatoes. Gag!

      • Bleah indeed! I would have voted for you, Rosemary! I’m not adverse to savory-sweet combos, but sweetened chili turns my stomach.

        • As you can tell from my blog, savory sweet (honey mustard) is one of my favorite tastes, but I think we are including sweeteners as a matter of course and no longer know or care what savory dishes are supposed to taste like. It has to be some sort of addiction. I remember a cheeseburger with onion rings in Virginia; the bun was sweet, the onion ring batter was sweet and the dip for the onion rings was sweet. I felt poisoned.

  7. Yum! I’d love to get some corn chips and scoop that up! Great recipe

  8. Tessa says:

    That’s one great looking bowl of chili! A bowl of your chili and a square of warm cornbread = pure happiness.

  9. An authentic Texan chilli – excellent!. One for my collection I think! Criminally, having never tried cornbread, I’ll remedy that too….

  10. love cooking with pulses; nice recipe.

  11. I’m loving this recipe! Great in the cold winter, but in my opinion great all year round!

Leave a Reply

