Monkey 47, etc.

IMG_4024b

This weekend was the beginning of the Stuttgart Spring Fest, like the Oktoberfest but only in the Spring; rides, food, dancing and singing.

IMG_3919b

We wanted to go on Saturday but it rained all day, so instead we spent our Saturday picking up my previously ordered thinly sliced flanken, beef ribs for grilling, visiting the market and shopping for drinks at the beverage store.  We found the strangest bottle of gin at the beverage store, Monkey 47.  I had never heard of it before but the bottle, label and name were irresistible.  Not gin drinkers, it was only after visiting the website http://www.monkey47.com/ that we realized that Monkey 47 is a high end gin and well known to gin aficionados and upper echelon London bartenders.  Who knew?

IMG_3735b

We like the idea of the German beverage store.  You can purchase wine, beer, fruit juices, soft drinks and alcohol.  The beer bottles and some of the juice bottles are glass and the empty bottles are returned to the store for recycling, just like in Africa and just like the olden days in the U.S. before everything was put into cans or plastic bottles.  Are there any soft drinks that are still sold in bottles?

IMG_3790b

It’s asparagus season here in Germany and I picked up some green and white at the farmers’ market for roasting.  We’re going to eat these all season :)

IMG_3832b 

So, Sunday afternoon we spent a few hours eating large, drinking and watching Jade thrill herself silly on outrageously frightening, fairground rides.

IMG_3759b

I love it that they always serve the maultaschen in a real bowl.  And my husband loves roasted, crispy skin ham hocks, served with a Gulden-like mustard.

IMG_3777b

Anyway, the flanken ribs.  The butcher sliced the ribs the correct thickness this time, although I thought they could have been wider with more meat, still, I was satisfied.  I lazily used a Paul Newman balsamic vinaigrette for the marinade, adding in garlic, dried oregano and basil.  They were very good and I have 2 more packages in the freezer :)

Grilled Beef Flanken Ribs with Roasted Asparagus

Ribs

3 slabs of beef flanken ribs, about 2 lbs

Salt and pepper

1/2 cup balsamic vinaigrette

2 garlic cloves, smashed

1 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp dried basil

Season the ribs with salt and pepper.  Mix the vinaigrette with the garlic, oregano and basil.  Marinate the meat in the marinade for at least 4 hours.  Grill on a medium low grill for about 20 minutes, turning every 5 minutes and basting with the marinade.

Asparagus

2 garlic cloves, chopped

3 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 tbsp lemon juice

3/4 lb each green and white asparagus

3 small tomatoes, cut into eighths

2 tbsp pine nuts

Mix the garlic, olive oil, salt, pepper and lemon juice together.  Place the asparagus, tomatoes and pine nuts in a very large bowl, then pour the olive oil mixture over all, tossing to coat, then pour onto an aluminum foil lined baking sheet.  Roast for 15-20 minutes in a 400 F oven.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, German, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Monkey 47, etc.

  1. Mad Dog says:

    The asparagus looks good – sadly the white variety isn’t popular here. The monkey gin looks good too and last but not least, great looking ribs ;-)

  2. Tessa says:

    I love that you cooked both the white and green asparagus together. Beautiful color combination. And those ribs, I’ve never tried that cut before.

  3. I only ever find white asparagus in jars, never fresh in Sydney unfortunately. Your flanken ribs look so tender!

  4. cecilia says:

    I am growing white asparagus this year, if only it would warm up so the bloody things can grow! c

  5. The idea of white asparagus is so odd but the whole plate looks really good. I’d like to try that cut of meat. I don’t know that I could find it in my area though. Any suggestion for a similar cut?

  6. We get soft drinks in glass bottles a lot. But they are the specialty kind. And we save the bottles for our beer brewing. My kind of recycling. :)

  7. Wow, this meal looks fantastic! The ribs are just mouthwatering. I love the idea of balsamic vinaigrette in here. Lovely post Rosemary. :)

  8. Fantastic! I love gin, sounds delicious. Send me some :D. Gorgeous food as ever, Rosemary!

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    I have been flip flopping between Plymouth and Bombay on the gin front. Perhaps it’s time to make a monkey of myself. I’ll bet the butcher is reading this post and fuming about his inability to satisfy the needs of the customer.

    • Hi Conor. I’ve never heard of Plymouth but we once tasted the Bombay, wait for it, in India. We’re afraid of trying the Monkey because we are absolutely sure we’ll turn into monkeys :)
      As far as the butcher is concerned, I am glad that I found one who was willing to try to give his customer the cut she wanted, however that is a butcher’s job and accordingly you pay for it, a lot, bones or not. I don’t think he will be upset when I ask him to make them a bit wider and really Conor, if he is, I’ll try the butcher at the central Marktplatz.

      • Conor Bofin says:

        I have never been to India and would love to get there some day. Great to have choice, both in gin and butchers. Here in Dublin, so many butchers have become something else entirely, getting all their meat pre-cut and delivered in shrink wrap. Their added value is putting some industrial sauce over it. I am lucky in that I know my butcher and the guys there have real skill and passion for their business. I believe that many fall into the former category because they try to compete with the supermarkets by copying them. This is an approach that they will regret in time.
        Enjoy the day,
        Conor

        • You are lucky Conor and I wish I was in France where I know the butchers AND where the meat comes from. But I’m not, I’m “in Germany now” and in order to get what I’m willing to pay for, I have to train a butcher. It’s okay, the man is very pleasant and gives us little gifts of house made sausages. Tough job but he’ll thank me for it later :D

  10. ryansb90 says:

    Your photos are great, what camera do you use?

  11. Wow. The ribs look perfectly grilled. What a gorgeous spread.

  12. Raymund says:

    That crispy skin ham hocks looks amazing, I want to make some of those. Reminds me of the crispy pata

  13. Bassa's Blog says:

    Monkey 47 is an irresistible name. I’ll visit the website to see if they explain the origin of the name (excuse the pun)..

Leave a Reply

