Garlic Chicken with Chard and Turnips

IMG_3684b

Unless the weather turns, this is the last day I’m using that oven!  The kitchen seems to heat up fast, even when it’s not that hot outside.  Grill.

IMG_3643b

I had some lovely hakurei turnips that I wanted to use and the chard suggested itself as I was taking the turnips from the refrigerator.  Ham?  Yes, I still have lots.

IMG_3572b

Garlic Chicken with Chard and Turnips

Chicken

4 whole chicken legs, cut into drumsticks and thighs

Paprika

Salt

Pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

1 whole, fresh garlic head, peeled and sliced

2-3 bay leaves

1/2 cup white wine

Season the chicken with the salt, pepper and paprika, then brown in the olive oil.  Place the chicken in a tajine, sprinkle around the garlic and tuck in the bay leaves.  Pour the white wine over all, cover and cook in a 400 F oven for 30 minutes.  Uncover and cook for an additional 10-15 minutes.

Turnips and Chard

6 hakurei turnips, cut into cubes

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

1 cup cooked ham, coarsely chopped

2 garlic cloves, chopped

2 cups chard leaves, chopped

2 bay leaves

2 tbsp white wine vinegar

Salt and pepper

Brown the turnip cubes in the olive oil.  Add the ham and garlic, then cook until the garlic is aromatic.  Add the chard, bay leaves, vinegar, salt and pepper, then cover and steam for 4-5 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Garlic Chicken with Chard and Turnips

  1. lauralayne says:

    This looks absolutely amazing. I have never tried to cook turnips before but I am definitely going to give it a shot using your recipe! I will let you know how it goes, thanks so much for the idea!

  2. Mona says:

    Nice! I have all of these ingredients in my fridge and was stuck on what to do. Dinner tonight is solved.

  3. Delicious – that chicken looks incredible, Rosemary.

  4. That looks gorgeous. Chicken in our house tonight too!

  5. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely as usual Rosemary.

  6. Every now and then I stumble upon a recipe I have to make. This is one of them. I love turnips and I love chard. I can’t think of a better way to cook them. And the chicken? Perfect. Thank you for posting this!

  7. oh i just love turnips..i never make them though :) i will have to pick some up at the market..lovely post..sarah

  8. Tessa says:

    It has been quite a while since I last cooked turnips… Your dish looks wonderful! Thanks for the inspiration Rosemary!

  9. This looks delicious! I love chard and turnips, will have to try it with this chicken. YUM!

  10. That looks beautiful, Rosemary. Nice way to end the season.

  11. This looks absolutely incredible!

Leave a Reply

