Savory Potato Leek Soup

IMG_3464bbb

As I’ve told both of our children, no one is obliged to like cooking if they don’t, however some basic survival cooking skills can come in handy when you’re on your own and can’t afford to eat out.  See new plate :)

IMG_3439b

Jade told me today that she was interested in making soup and I thought that was a good idea, especially for the beginning cook who really isn’t that interested in spending time in the kitchen.  Soup can be made from anything and I love to use leftovers this way.  We’re still working on the slices from the baked ham and I had a leek, some potatoes and some fading parsley.  Leftover chicken or turkey would also work for this soup.  Jade had her doubts, thinking that something this simple would be okay but not fabulous.  She was pleasantly surprised.

Savory Leek Potato Soup

1 large leek, sliced

2 tbsp butter

1 1/2 cup cooked ham, coarsely chopped

2 tbsp parsley, chopped

1 bay leaf

4 cups chicken broth

Salt and pepper

2 cups cubed potatoes

Saute the leek in the butter until soft.  Add the ham and parsley and saute for about 2 minutes.  Add the bay leaf, broth, salt and pepper, bring to a boil, then add the potatoes and simmer for about 20 minutes until potatoes are tender.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Savory Potato Leek Soup

  1. That is absolutely gorgeous – I like it! I also leek leek and potato soup – yours is a really interesting take. Delicious!

  2. Tessa says:

    That soup looks delicious and I really like your new plate! It photographs beautifully without distracting from the food. Did you get just one?

  3. I love soup like this and agree that it’s an excellent way to start with cooking! Thought of you at the weekend as i bought one pretty blue plate in a charity shop :)

  4. That soup looks so good! Most potato leek soup I have seen are pureed. Love that this has all its shapes. Looks great Rosemary.

  5. sylviadewy says:

    Oh wow.. Oh wow.. Your recipe gave me an awesome idea; how to use my leek soup packet (kept at my cupboard for long. Phew!!) with a great twist of yours –
    http://www.knorr.com/product/detail/246079/leek

    It will not just save plenty of my time but I can definitely serve this in my dinner. Thanks a ton dear! You just made my day.. :)

  6. Simple and looks so delicious!

  7. alissacat says:

    Reblogged this on Simply Divine and commented:
    Tell me this is healthy, please!

  8. lolarugula says:

    Oh how I love a great soup, especially when it comes from fading veggies in the fridge or pantry. It’s so nice to see you show your daughter how to make something so simple yet lovely from just a few ingredients! (and great photos, as always!)

  9. Raymund says:

    Thats a nice looking and chunky soup, perfect for the current weather here in New Zealand

  10. Bassa's Blog says:

    I love soup and this looks delicious!

  11. Pingback: Leek Soup With Sausage | RecipeReminiscing

Leave a Reply

