Ham, Spinach and Goat Cheese Orecchiette

IMG_3070b

Inspiration for the this pasta is all over the internet, some claim it’s a Martha Stewart creation.  The original uses kale, bacon and Parmesan cheese which sounded really good to me, whoever is responsible.  However, I’m not cooking alone here, I have to work with the freezer and refrigerator :)

IMG_3053b

Speaking of working with others:  I constantly saw references to chef Gordon Ramsey’s television show on Facebook, so yesterday I finally looked at a couple of excerpts on YouTube but turned them off, tout de suite.  I didn’t see the entertainment value in watching one person verbally abuse another.  I don’t get it, I thought it would be about cooking like Julia Child, instead of a voyeuristic, Marquis de Sade “reality” show.  Anyway.

IMG_3118b

Many times, in both Africa and France, someone determined that because I was American, I couldn’t speak French and that they would not be able to understand a word I was saying, so they stopped listening.  I always considered this the height of narrow-mindedness and abused them in my mind.  Well guys, I was in a German store looking for goat cheese and because it was a German store, I decided that I would not be able to understand anything I read, so I didn’t read.  If I had I would have noticed that  1) This package is written in French.  2)  Bourdin is a well known French supplier of goat cheese products.  3) This goat cheese had honey in it.  Boy Howdy :(

IMG_3113b

However, “one monkey don’t stop no show” and as the taste of honey was light, I used the cheese anyway.  Good choice.  You can make this with plain, but the light honey flavor complimented the pasta.  In fact, it was delicious.

Ham, Spinach and Goat Cheese Orecchiette

2 shallots, thinly sliced

2 cups baked ham, diced

3 tbsp olive oil

1/4 cup sundried tomatoes, chopped

4 enormous handfuls of baby spinach

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper

Salt and black pepper

1 lb orecchiette pasta, cooked and hot (1/4 cup cooking liquid reserved)

1 cup goat cheese, plain or with honey, crumbled

1 large tomato, seeded and diced

Cook the shallots and ham in the olive oil until the ham begins to brown.  Add the sundried tomatoes and continue to cook for another 2-3 minutes.  Add the spinach and cook just until wilted.  Stir in the crushed red pepper, salt and black pepper.  Set aside.

Cook the pasta, reserving 1/4 cup of the cooking liquid.  Drain, then stir the spinach mixture into the hot pasta with the reserved cooking liquid.  Add the goat cheese and tomatoes and toss.  Serve immediately.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Ham, Spinach and Goat Cheese Orecchiette

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Great salad! I’m not surprised you didn’t like Gordon Ramsey, he’s a thug and nowhere near as talented as Marco Pierre White, who he used to work for ;-)

  2. Most of his shows he yells but check out Master Chef. He is much more encouraging as it deals with amateur chefs. I agree, he can be a bit much! But if I ignore the yelling I pick up a few tips here and there. Especially on Master chef as you have a lot of home cooks bringing in new ideas. Never thought about goat cheese with honey. Does that work?

  3. Jon says:

    Looks and sounds perfect.

  4. yum..honey goat cheese sounds really good..pasta looks just beautiful…lovley post..sarah

  5. Gorgeous colors in the top photos!

  6. What a lovely pasta dish, Rosemary – it looks delicious. I love goats cheese.

  7. Karen says:

    I can imagine that the honey cheese went well…like if you have used a honey baked ham in the recipe.

  8. Pingback: Goat Cheese & Chicken Spinach Pasta - Fun with Food

Leave a Reply

