Pork Filet Mignon with Fresh Peas and Green Beans

IMG_2956b

Just as I was planning on giving up blogging and devoting myself full time to learning to play the accordion, I was taking a last look through my French Saveurs magazine and was dazzled by a recipe from a company advertising stoves.  This recipe featured pork filet mignon, fresh fava beans and green beans.  While I didn’t have any fava, I had just picked up some fresh peas and German haricots verts.

IMG_2994b

I guess companies advertising kitchen equipment are not the best sources for recipes.  It’s not like they hire chefs or anything and while the recipe was a great idea, I objected to the methodology, but the marinade was exceptional.

IMG_2868b

French pork tenderloins are a bit smaller than those in the U.S., so you’ll probably have to adjust cooking time.

IMG_2908b

Yeah.  Fresh peas.

IMG_2919b

The onions were brilliant!  I found it unnecessary to pour the marinade into the pan as per the recipe.  Boiling, boiling.

IMG_2931b

I was just going to serve the pork with the peas and green beans but my husband went:  Hello?  Potatoes?  So that’s why.

I’m still going to learn to play the accordion.  My husband bought me one for Christmas :)

Pork Filet Mignon with Fresh Peas and Green Beans

2 pork filet mignons

6 tbsp olive oil

6 tbsp soy sauce

Juice of 1 lime

1 tsp cumin seeds

1 tsp smoked paprika

1 tsp chipolte chile powder

1 tsp sugar

1 onion, sliced

1 1/2 cups fresh peas

1 1/2 cups fresh green beans, cut into thirds

1 really large clove garlic, slivered

2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 lb potatoes, boiled

Mix the 6 tbsp olive oil, soy sauce, lime juice, cumin seeds, paprika, chipolte powder and sugar together and place inside of a zip lock with the onions and filets, mush around and allow to marinate in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour.

Boil the peas and green beans for 5 minutes, remove and rinse with cold water, then drain.

Saute the garlic in the olive oil until aromatic, add the peas and green beans and saute for about 3 minutes.  Add the potatoes, cooking for 2-3 minutes.  Set aside and keep warm.

Remove the pork from the refrigerator and drain, reserving marinade.  Put the filets and onions in a roasting pan and roast in a 400F oven for 30-35 minutes, pouring some reserved marinade on top after 15 minutes.

     

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Pork Filet Mignon with Fresh Peas and Green Beans

  1. I expect you’d play the accordion amazingly but in the meantime I’ll continue to enjoy your beautiful recipes! Those veggies look like an advert for spring :)

  2. lolarugula says:

    If you do take up the accordion, please don’t stop blogging! :) Thanks.

  3. Tessa says:

    Mmmm… Fresh peas! That table that you have in the photos… Is it made of metal?

  4. Mad Dog says:

    The recipe looks excellent – well spotted!
    My next door neighbour took up the accordion, but never got past the Sailor’s Hornpipe – I have a feeling you’ll go a lot further ;-)

  5. Love the idea of mixing your boiled potatoes into a saute of green veggies. And how I miss those fresh peas – easy to find in the UK but not in the US.

  6. Laura says:

    I continue to be inspired by your recipes … we should be getting spring peas soon in the US.

    I look forward to hearing your accordian at a pub near the house in NY :)

  7. Janet Rörschåch says:

    I second your, “Yay! Fresh Peas”. Nothing better.

  8. The marinade for the pork with the onions sounds delicious and ahhh, those spring veggies. If you learn to play the accordion even a spec as well as you cook, then I would surely love to hear you play! Love the you called this pork filet mignon. I’m stealing that! :)

  9. Yum! I love tenderloin – a delicious meat. Also, I just bought a similar casserole dish :D

  10. rsmacaalay says:

    Thats a nice piece of meat you got there.

  11. sylviadewy says:

    Peas and Potatoes are my favorite. And this Pork looks mouth smacking.. Yum! I am going to try this easy breezy recipe.. Thanks For Sharing :D

  12. reggiorif says:

    Great spring time dish… love the colours and it looks nice and light (always depending on how much you have of it ;) ).

  13. That is awesome about the accordion. France has really rubbed off, no? :-)

  14. Karen says:

    Your dish looks like spring! Perfect now that fresh peas are in the markets.

Leave a Reply

