Deep Fried Rabbit Legs

IMG_2848b

Feeling a little introspective this morning, I questioned my preoccupation with making and taking pictures of food.  How did I get here?  What’s it all about?  Where am I going with this?

IMG_2772b

What I arrived at was that I cook in order to satisfy my creative urge and to assuage my disappointment in not becoming a singer, a musician or a painter.  And that I take pictures in order to gloat over my consolation prize creativity.  Whew!  What a relief!  I can deal with that.  I thought I was wasting my time :D

IMG_2800b

So anyway, after I solved my self esteem problems, I began to speculate on the possible reasons for the American aversion to considering rabbits as just another white meat.

IMG_2731v

When I was a child, my father used to hunt rabbits with his buddies on weekends.  He’d bring them home, clean them up and either boil or treat them with vinegar before frying.  His seasoned coating was excellent and we were always willing to eat the rabbits but they were usually dry and stringy.  Domestic rabbits are so much better!  You can cook them without boiling or curing.  Unfortunately, we raise the domestic variety as pets and nobody wants to eat Peter Rabbit.  Too bad.  I’ll have to continue to get my rabbit fix in Europe.

IMG_2832b

Inspiration for the herb sprinkled rabbit comes from Jamie Oliver

Deep Fried Rabbit Legs

6 domestic rabbit legs

2 cups buttermilk

3 tbsp chopped rosemary and sage

Salt and pepper

1 cup flour and 1/2 cup bread crumbs mixed

Peanut oil

Soak the rabbit legs in the buttermilk for an hour or two.  Sprinkle with the herbs, salt and pepper.  Coat with the flour and bread crumbs, then fry to a golden brown in the peanut oil.

Beverage suggestion:  Bourgogne Aligote

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, English, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Deep Fried Rabbit Legs

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I love rabbit and generally the wild ones I buy are very good. Beware of the farmed variety – I read an article in the Sunday Times last year that said most of them are bred in conditions worse than battery hens. They were pointing the finger at France in particular, which is where most farmed rabbit in Britain comes from :-(
    No disrespect intended towards your rabbit legs though – they look delicious ;-)

  2. Jon says:

    Glad the intropective jag led you back to food and photos. This looks great. Had some rabbit a few weeks ago, marinated in achiote and whacked onto the grill. The kidneys were particularly tasty!

  3. Fried? Rabbit? Yes, please!

    Did you ever see that Nigella recipe for a rabbit salad? It was called something like A Rabbit in Mr. McGregor’s Garden. Evil delicious genius!

  4. Well if it’s any help, I thoroughly enjoy your posts so please continue! That is one way of cooking rabbit I’d never considered, kind of Southern Fried. Looks great. Much overlooked meat making a comeback!

  5. Michelle says:

    Hilarious. And I love rabbit, too. :)

  6. You are most certainly not wasting your time! But I’ll leave the rabbit to you as we had pet rabbits as children and lots of little wild cotton tails hopping around all over the place here now. I’m too attached.

  7. That looks incredible! You fried it perfectly and presented beautifully. Well done Rosemary.

  8. Paula says:

    Well, it’s a great consolation prize!!
    And they are two arts at the same time. Photography is, and gastronomy, although not everyone thinks so, can be seen as an art ;)
    And eve when it’s not seen as that, nobody can doubt is a very creative discipline.

    My boyf doesn’t eat rabbit cos his grandparents had one at home…
    To me… Well, rabbits are really cute, yeah, but… let’s say rabbit legs are my favorite pat, especially if deep fried!!
    And when you marinate poultry in buttermilk, well, just heaven!!

  9. From the look of those pictures, I’m guessing that you bought the 85mm. Very nice look to very good food:)

  10. Don;t question yourself, I don’t :D – just enjoy it :). These legs look scrummy.

  11. It´s a pleasure following your blog, so delightful, the rabbit legs just looks perfect!

  12. Not wasting your time at all – I really enjoy your posts and pictures! The rabbit looks fantastic – it’s something I have just rediscovered when I had it in a stew with chorizo and borlotti beans at a local restaurant the other day…but if I can find some locally I will give this a go!

  13. caseylee18 says:

    I’ve never had rabbit before, I’ve been wanting to try for a very long time, just never got around to doing it. This looks delicious!

  14. cette recette m’a l’air fabuleuse !

  15. Simply Tia says:

    I’ve never tried rabbit meat but your photos are so inviting. I love all the colors. Truly appetizing, I bet.

  16. Karen says:

    Doesn’t everyone know that it “tastes just like chicken”. I enjoy rabbit when we are in Europe but you hardly ever see it here. And please never stop cooking and photographing…you are too good. :)

  17. alissacat says:

    Reblogged this on Simply Divine and commented:
    I’ve never had rabbit. mmmhmm

Leave a Reply

