Chickpea Hominy Soup with Herbs

IMG_2717b

Leftover baked ham, 1 frail carrot, 1/2 bell pepper, a huge bag of baby spinach. Pots and pots of fresh herbs.  Of course there were onions and garlic, the cupboard never gets THAT bare!

IMG_2692b

Got my Zen thing going on, practicing MC’s electric typewriter on the way to the pantry to get the canned chickpeas.

And came to a screeching halt.  Seems that the dozens of cans my husband brought home from the commissary were not chickpeas but hominy!   Were they on sale?  Was he craving pozole?  In any case, that’s why.  That’s why there is a can of hominy in with the chickpeas.  And it was still good.  Can’t touch this :)

Chickpea Hominy Soup with Herbs

1 onion, finely chopped

5 cloves garlic, finely chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

2-3 cups smoked ham, coarsely chopped

1/2 bell pepper, diced

1 carrot, diced

1 bay leaf

1 tbsp fresh basil, chopped

1 tbsp fresh thyme, chopped

2 tbsp fresh oregano, chopped

2 cans chickpeas, drained

1 can hominy, drained

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

6 cups chicken broth

3 healthy handfuls of fresh baby spinach

Saute the onions and garlic in the oil until soft.  Add the ham, bell pepper and carrot, then  continue to saute for 2-3 minutes.  Add the bay leaf, herbs, chickpeas, hominy, salt, pepper and broth.  Bring to a boil, then simmer for 45 minutes.  Stir in the spinach until wilted then remove the pot from the flame.

Good with a sprinkle of grated cheese and/or fresh chopped herbs.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Chickpea Hominy Soup with Herbs

  1. Cynthia says:

    A frail carrot? ;) I’ve never cooked with hominy before. I will enjoy trying this one.

  2. I don’t even know what hominy is but that looks good! Google here I come…

  3. I’m just picturing a carrot gasping ” I can’t go on” LOL and nice touch with MC Hammer! :)

  4. Oooh, perfect dish for a cold day we’re having (N. California). I can see myself craving for this soup when I’m under the weather. Lovely post Rosemary.

  5. I didn’t know what hominy was either but I guess I coud use my chickpeas to make this lovely comforting dish!

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely looking soup. Wish I could dance like MC.

  7. Nope! Can’t touch it :-) Looks awesome! I’m not feeling too well, so a big bowl of this would hit the spot so well!

  8. Karen says:

    You know I like hominy so I know I would enjoy your soup. I can see pozole (red or green) in your future. :)

  9. lolarugula says:

    I’ve not had hominy in many years but loved it as a child! Great post and this really looks delicious! Nice work!

  10. Tessa says:

    Looks delicious! I’ve seen hominy many times in the grocery store but I have not yet ventured to try it… Next time I see it, I will snag a can. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

