Supreme de Pintade a l’Essence

IMG_2240b

The best guinea fowl we’ve ever tasted was in Arc en Barrois from the kitchen of our son’s friend’s grandmother.  It was so memorable that 20 years later, we still talk about it.

IMG_2265b

I’m going to move my photography table, I think the light is better over here at the dining room table; softer.

IMG_2158b

Bandit:  “Come on Quincy, man up!  I don’t know why you make such a big deal of riding in the car.  All that clawing, running and fighting but you still end up in the box.  If you just quietly get in your box, go to sleep, you’ll wake up in France and then go up on the roof and have fun.  Howling all the way for nearly 6 hours just prolongs the trip, as the people have to stop for frequent wine breaks.”

IMG_2155b

Quincy:  “Yeah well, I might end up in the box but they’re going to have to work for it!”

IMG_2197b

Aren’t mushrooms good!  I always like to cook them until they are a little brown but not too dark and juice-less.

IMG_2168b

Yet another reason to have on hand my Bavarian essence http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/pork-belly-with-bavarian-essence-part-1/ 

IMG_2208b

If you don’t have access to guinea fowl then duck, game hen or chicken will certainly work but the guinea fowl supremes were perfection!

Guinea Fowl Supremes with Bavarian Essence and Sauteed Mushrooms

4 guinea fowl supremes

Bavarian essence (see above)

2 garlic cloves, chopped

2 shallots, thinly sliced vertically

2 tbsp olive oil

1 lb mushrooms, sliced

Salt and pepper

2 tbsp fresh mixed herbs (parsley, thyme, oregano), chopped

1/4 cup white wine

Season the guinea fowl with Bavarian essence then roast for 25 minutes on a rack in a 350 F oven.

Saute the garlic and shallots in the oil until the shallots begin to soften.  Add the mushrooms, salt and pepper, then cook until the mushrooms begin to discharge their water.  Add the herbs and wine, continuing to cook until the alcohol boils off and the mushrooms are a pleasant brown.

Serve with mashed potatoes.

Wine suggestion:  Macon Village

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, German, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Supreme de Pintade a l’Essence

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I always find guinea fowl a bit disappointing, but maybe they just need your Bavarian Essence ;-)
    Good luck Quincy!

  2. Jon says:

    Ahhhh, pintade. Love it, and the recipe sounds delish. I had one of those proustian memory moments figuring pintade and a 1996 Syrah from Spain, Dominio de Valdepusa, Marqués de Griñón.

  3. Karen says:

    I always order guinea fowl when we are in Europe but don’t find it here in New England. Your’s looks delicious with the wonderful mushrooms.

  4. Looks absolutely delicious. I have never made Guinea Fowl and love that your recipes so often offer me the challenge of trying something new. The lighting in your photos is always beautiful. Do you do anything special or is it all just natural light?

  5. What a fabulous looking guinea fowl! And yes mushrooms are good! Looks delicious Rosemary. I love your kitties –they’re too cute. I’m a foster Mommy to my neighbor’s cat this week. Aren’t they fun? :D

  6. I often spy Guinea fowl kept at a house a few miles down the road and contemplate getting some, It has been a long time since I have eaten it. Your recipe look great. Maybe an incentive to keep some? I certainly have no chance of finding any in the local shops! Thanks.

  7. Tessa says:

    Great photos as usual! I’m going to make your Bavarian Essence :).

  8. Good lord, Rosemary – that looks like such a satisfying dish!

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    Never cooked a guinea fowl. I saw them in the butcher recently. Time to go back and check them out, literally.
    Lovely dish,
    Conor

  10. Have you got the new lens – those pictures are looking good. You’ve moved to the right spot. By the way, I remember bringing our cats to France in the car. They made such a racket, at one point I opened the cage in the back of the Jeep and gave them the option of getting out – they stayed:)

  11. Muriel says:

    Can you tell me the name of your white bakeware dish, I am looking for one similar?

  12. Michelle says:

    I don’t know why nobody here in the States eats pintade. It’s delicious! My grandparents used to keep guineas, but it seems never to have occurred to anyone to eat them. Funny about the cats, too. So true.

  13. chef mimi says:

    Now I’m going to have to cook guinea hens! Thanks!

  14. rsmacaalay says:

    You got some interesting poultry in here, never tried those but looks like a duck meat. Looks yum

  15. Oooh! That looks divine. You always get such great color on your meats and poultry.

Leave a Reply

