Red Mullet with Mango Salsa and Vegetables

IMG_2144b

I didn’t know what to do for our meal today but as we are going to France over the weekend holiday, I wanted to use some of the vegetables in the refrigerator.  I didn’t want to make another Asian plate but the vegetable selection had an inscrutable look which I decided to ignore, to the greatest extent possible.  After assembling the vegetables and aromatics, I jettisoned the garlic because I thought it might overwhelm the flavors of the vegetables and fish, but you can add some if you want.  New grocery store plate above.

IMG_2015b

I was really interested in finding out how these normally Oriental vegetables would work out with with just a few Occidental herbs, salt and pepper.  But it didn’t stop me from wok-ing them :)

IMG_2033b

So far so very good.  Just correctly cooked, fresh vegetables that look Asian.

IMG_2060b

When considering what to do with the mullet while looking at the veg, I kept thinking teriyaki :)  Saved by the perfectly ripe and firm mango in the fridge, I made a salsa and just seasoned the fish with salt and pepper.

IMG_2094b

I’ll be “cooking in Sens” at least once while we are there.

Red Mullet with Mango Salsa and Vegetables

Salsa

1 ripe mango, diced

1/2 red bell pepper, chopped

1/2 very small purple onion, chopped

1 bird’s tongue chilli, seeded and chopped

2 tbsp cilantro, chopped

Juice of one lime

Mix everything together and refrigerate until ready to use.

Vegetables

1/2 very small purple onion, chopped

1/2 red bell pepper, chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 lb  fresh baby corn, cut into thirds diagonally

1/2 lb baby patty pan squash, sliced

2-3 sprigs fresh thyme

2-3 sprigs fresh oregano

1 1/2 cup snow peas, sliced in half diagonally

Salt and pepper

Fry the onion and pepper in the olive oil until the onion begins to soften, add the corn and squash, then saute until just crisp tender.  Add the herbs, snow peas, salt and pepper, then saute for 1-2 minutes.  Set aside and keep warm.

Fish

4 red mullet fillets, seasoned with salt and pepper

1 tbsp olive oil

Fry the fish in the olive oil skin side down for 2 minutes, turn and cook for 1 minute.  Serve with the salsa and vegetables.

Wine suggestion:  Muscadet

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Red Mullet with Mango Salsa and Vegetables

  1. The vegetables look gorgeous.

  2. Tessa says:

    Vibrant colors! Mango salsa is one of my favorite toppings for fish :).

  3. Mad Dog says:

    The squash look great – have fun in France!

  4. Asian-style food with thyme? I am very impressed, Rosemary!

  5. Oh yes, mango salsa has to be done soon – looks divine!

  6. Gorgeous! I wish I had some of this gorgeous produce at my house.

  7. Gorgeous, love the colors in this dish and I LOVE fish! Great post.

  8. rsmacaalay says:

    Ohhh I love mango salsa, goes really well with something savoury

  9. Nice looking pics. Enjoy your stay in France. I guess we can expect some stories of meals with the Parrets:)

  10. IRENA & dots says:

    These colors looks so fresh and light, also the meal itself!

  11. looks lovely and very tasty!

  12. I can’t seem to buy mangoes without making salsa, so this one is right up my alley!

Leave a Reply

