Cauliflower Casserole

IMG_1695bb

I like cauliflower, broccoli and romanesco and so does the family.  My husband especially likes cauliflower mashed/smashed to resemble potatoes because he loves potatoes.  It’s an Irish thing.

IMG_1691b

While I was washing the big, white, beautiful cauliflower from Fresh Paradise, I started thinking about a number of things.

IMG_1625b

For example, everyone seems to be saying that you can use and keep scallions forever if you cut from the top, leaving the root, and place in a glass of water in a sunny window.  The scallions are supposed to grow back.  We’ll see.

IMG_1627b

I would really like to have a dedicated photographer like Jamie Oliver’s but since that’s not going to happen, I would like a camera like Jamie Oliver’s photographer and since that would be pushing my husband too far, I would like a Canon EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM UD Wide Angle Zoom lens.  Would this be a good companion to my 50mm f 1.4, Roger?  Since I don’t have a zoom, is that the one for the kind of pictures I take?

IMG_1635b

I was looking at a Jamie video and he recommended a little disorder in kitchen shots to show that work is being done.  I rarely take kitchen shots because the kitchen is usually too messy but maybe I’ll try.

IMG_1664b

Also the kitchen here is brown with a really ugly sink, but the window is nice :)

IMG_1676b

Cauliflower Casserole

1 large head of cauliflower

2 tbsp butter

3/4 cup lardon

3 scallions, sliced

2 cups emmenthal, shredded

1 cup Greek yogurt

1/2 cup cream

Salt and pepper

Separate the cauliflower into florets, wash, then boil for about 10 minutes.  Drain.  Coarsely mash the cauliflower with the butter and set aside. Brown the lardon in a skillet, then add the scallions and saute until they soften.  Set aside. Mix together the cauliflower, lardon, yogurt, 1 cup of the emmenthal, the cream, salt and pepper to taste. Divide the mixture between ramekins or place in one large baking dish, sprinkle with the remaining cheese and bake in a 350 F oven for 15-20 minutes until golden brown and bubbly.

  

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Cauliflower Casserole

  1. Lovely, Rosemary. The prettiest cauliflower dish I’ve ever seen….

  2. No need to worry about your photos. Lovely just as is….

  3. I steam cauliflower at least once a week, and I’ll try this to mix it up a bit! Thanks for sharing.

  4. Karista says:

    I love cauliflower and this is the mosst delicious sounding and looking casserole! Definitely going on my recipes to try list. :)

  5. Love the perfectly browned cheesey top, looks absolutely delicious. Your photos are lovely as they are. The Jamie Oliver video sound interesting? Did you find it on You Tube?

  6. Gorgeous and I alays think your photos are beautiful!

  7. Good Cooks says:

    Yummy… One of my favorite veggies, and this is a new way to use cauliflower, thanks

  8. Michelle says:

    “I rarely take kitchen shots because the kitchen is usually too messy…” Same here! Looks like a delicious casserole though.

  9. This sounds delicious, thank you for the recipe!

  10. Perfect and simple! Shots look great too. So, did the green onions grow?

  11. Tessa says:

    Your cauliflower casserole looks delicious! What’s a good substitute for lardon?

  12. Carole says:

    Hi there. The current Food on Friday on Carole’s Chatter is collecting links to dishes using cauliflower and/or cabbage. I do hope you link this in. This is the link . It would be great if you checked out some of the other links – there are lots of good ones already. Cheers

Leave a Reply

