Mustard Rabbit with Baby Asparagus Tips

IMG_1006b

One day last week I cooked twice, posted one of the recipes and forgot about the other.  This Rachel Khoo inspired, mustard lashed and bread crumb coated rabbit with the asparagus is simple to make, and that’s a good thing because so much time has passed, if it was complicated, I probably would have forgotten how I made it.

0970b

Mustard Rabbit with Baby Asparagus Tips

4 rabbit legs

Salt and pepper

Grain mustard

Bread crumbs

2 tbsp olive oil

Butter

1 lb baby asparagus tips

Season the rabbit with salt and pepper, then brush with mustard.  Allow the legs to sit for about 30 minutes, then coat with bread crumbs.  Heat the olive oil in a roasting pan in a 400 F oven, the add the rabbit.  Roast for 20 minutes, turn, then roast for an additional 15 minutes.

Quickly saute the asparagus tips in butter, season with salt and pepper, then serve with the rabbit.

Wine suggestion:  Chablis  

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Mustard Rabbit with Baby Asparagus Tips

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I thought that was your breakfast for a minute ;-)

  2. Could have been. There really are no set in stone, designated breakfast foods around here :)

  3. Oh this looks good! Lovely pairing with the mustard and asparagus!

  4. You have such pretty plates. I can recognise your posts by the pics. :)

    • Thank you Victoria. I’m trying to figure out the equivalent of consignment stores in Germany which were my major sources for plates, along with French grocery stores.

  5. A delicious sounding meal…I love the asparagus in Germany.

  6. canalcook says:

    Looks great. I have recently discovered I like rabbit. I promised a friend with a pet rabbit I would never eat rabbit when I was 6 and managed to keep that promise until 26, longer than I kept the friend!

  7. lauralayne says:

    I never think to cook rabbit but this looks so good! Definitely going to give a try!

  8. Mary Frances says:

    So pretty. Baby asparagus are divine!

  9. That looks heaven! I can use a plate right now. :D YUM!

  10. Lapin a la moutarde is so good – I really like it. Guess what the customs at La Moussiere don’t allow in :)

  11. lolarugula says:

    Rabbit still isn’t hugely popular here in the States but I’m such a fan of it, when I can find it. I usually do a simple roast or braise but I’m going to have to try this…the mustard sounds perfect for it!

Leave a Reply

