Grilled Welsh Lamb and Waiblingen Easter Fair

IMG_1395b

A hectic Sunday.  I don’t know what I was thinking.  Jade goes back to school at 4:00 p.m. every Sunday and we usually have a leisurely lunch before we take her to the train station.  There was also a one day only Easter fair in our town that we all wanted to attend.  So why did I cook?  Unlike French fairs, German fairs always have major food selection and we could have had our lunch at the fair instead of hurrying through this lunch.  Oh well.

IMG_1370b

I wanted to give Welsh lamb another chance, so I picked up a rolled roast at Fresh Paradise.

IMG_1243b

I unrolled it and did the worse job of butterflying it that you have ever seen.  Still, it worked and was delicious.  But my kiwi wanna be’s said that they still preferred the flavor of New Zealand lamb.  Unanimous.  I know, I know, “you have to buy it locally” they say but I’m not in Wales.  I’m in Germany now :)

IMG_1353b

I served the roast simply with tzatziki and a mixed salad.

IMG_1331b

Good thing because we just had to find out what was in the fair’s wood burning ovens with the long lines in front.

IMG_1493b

It was a German type of flammekueche, called dinnedede?  denidbede? with potatoes, cheese and bacon.  Let me know the name if you know it.

IMG_1440b

I like old town Waiblingen.  It reminds me a little of Sens with it’s narrow, pedestrian streets.  However, most of  Waiblingen’s historic Tudors survived WWII’s bombings.  

IMG_1429b

We were wondering, has the sale of alcohol been banned at our fairs in the U.S. ?  We refreshed ourselves with a nice dry, sparkling, German sekt on the way to look at some Easter eggs.

IMG_1417b

My husband tried one that tasted of rose petals.  It was okay.  Easter eggs…

IMG_1450

IMG_1434

IMG_1462

IMG_1467

We didn’t have enough time to look at all of the Easter decorations but we do plan to come back for the fair next year.  

Grilled Lamb

1 rolled lamb roast or boned lamb leg, butterflied

3 garlic cloves, finely chopped

2 tbsp fresh rosemary, chopped

1 tbsp fresh thyme, chopped

1 tbsp fresh basil, chopped

1 tbsp black pepper

1 tbsp ground cumin

3/4 cup olive oil

Mix the oil and seasonings together and marinate the lamb overnight.  Grill for about 40 minutes in a 400 F preheated grill, top down, over indirect heat.

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Grilled Welsh Lamb and Waiblingen Easter Fair

  1. jargontalk says:

    Epic tour… thanks!

  2. I just love the gorgeous Easter eggs. And another great lamb recipe. I haven’t had tzatziki for quite awhile. Need to “dust” off that recipe!

  3. Mad Dog says:

    I think you hit the nail on the head – the best lamb comes fresh from a reputable butcher. New Zealand lamb is intended to be frozen and exported – Welsh lamb probably isn’t, so the frozen variety isn’t the best example.

  4. acrusteaten says:

    There must be Easter in the air because I’ve been craving lamb like nothing else! I think this has sealed my determination to roast some lamb next weekend. Looks delicious.

  5. chefconnie says:

    Those easter eggs are amazing.

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    You have to try some of our Irish lamb, if you get the chance. They take on very different flavours depending upon where they have been reared. Those very near the west coast get a lovely salty flavour while others end up with a subtle thyme note, if they have been grazed on such like.
    Lovely photography of the market too.
    Best,
    Conor

  7. I would have enjoyed the lamb and then walked off the meal at the fair. It may have been a hectic day but it sounds nice.

  8. Ahhh Welsh lamb is simply the best!

  9. Oh, the photos are so lovely that I can taste the lamb cooking:-)

  10. I’d give that lamb a second chance, and a third, and a fourth. Very nice photos.

  11. Looks delicious! But goodness – Waiblingen!!! I was there years and years ago when I was 16. Thanks for sharing the pics.

  12. Your lamb looks absolutely mouthwatering! A glass merlot or cab will be perfect with this. Delicious!

  13. foodvixennyc says:

    Excellent post… My mouth is watering for lamb thanks to the great photography! :D

  14. The Germans do ‘do’ markets so well don’t they? Looks delicious and love the tzatziki side.
    May I also throw in a suggestion for Scottish/Northumberland Black Faced Lamb if you ever come across it? Some excellent producers round my way and across the border.

    • I can just see myself finishing a tour of Ireland, Scotland, Britain and Wales, yearning to go home so that I don’t have to eat another bite of lamb :D Of course I’ll try it :)
      I do have to admit that the German fair markets are far superior to those of France. But so far, the ordinary, weekly French markets of meats, cheeses, vegetables and fruits still have my heart.

  15. Pingback: Spatchcocked Chicken with Herb Butter | A Crust Eaten

  16. The fare at the fair looks so wonderful! Thanks so much for the wonderful pix. Your lamb looks FINE!

Leave a Reply

