Dak Bulgogi Salad with Quail Eggs

IMG_1210bb

I first started making Korean quail eggs at home in Sens, France http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/12/09/ginger-sesame-coquelet-with-korean-quail-eggs/.  The only kind of chillies I could find were those mild, French kind for babies and M. Parret.  Still, the eggs were good enough to repeat and I have many times.

IMG_1192b

Today I had real, lethal, burning chillies.  Asian chillies for adults.  Asian, fire-eating adults and crazy old ladies from Texas :)  I swear to you, I tasted one of the pieces of garlic that had just boiled along side the chillies and it “set my soul on fire.”  For some odd reason that I can’t even explain to myself , I felt the need to wipe away the tears that were cascading down my face, and then had to spend 15 minutes in the bathroom, rinsing my eyes out with baby shampoo.  These are truly the best Korean quail eggs I’ve ever made!

IMG_1152b

Anyway.  I wanted to make quail eggs in a salad today but needed an additional item for the salad.  The freezer is always happy to cooperate and I found 3 half chicken breasts from the commissary but, as my husband likes to point out, they are imports from France.

IMG_1195b

My inspiration for the barbecued chicken came from Korean Bapsang     http://www.koreanbapsang.com/2012/03/dak-bulgogi-korean-bbq-chicken.html#.UUGdbxysh8H.  My recipe is almost the same but I didn’t use the brown sugar and, to be honest, played fast and loose with the other ingredients.  So see above link for the authentic.

Dak Bulgogi Salad

3 chicken breast halves, sliced

3 tbsp tamari soy sauce

1 1/2 tbsp lemon juice

1 tbsp honey

1 tbsp hon-mirin

2 large cloves garlic, microplaned

1/2 inch ginger, microplaned

1 tbsp sesame oil

Mache  or other salad greens

1/2 red bell pepper, thinly sliced

Korean quail eggs

2 scallions, sliced

Wild sesame seeds

Peanut flavored dressing from yesterday http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2013/03/13/langue-de-veau-laotian/

Mix the soy sauce, lemon juice, honey, hon-mirin, garlic, ginger and sesame oil together.  Put the chicken slices in a zip lock bag and pour over the marinade.  Refrigerate for 1-2 hours.  Drain the chicken, reserving the marinade.

In a hot skillet, cook and caramelize the chicken, adding 2-4 tbsp of the reserved marinade while cooking.

Place the salad greens on plates, then top with the chicken, bell pepper and quail eggs.  Sprinkle with the scallions and sesame seed.  Serve with peanut dressing.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Korean, Main dishes, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Dak Bulgogi Salad with Quail Eggs

  1. That sounds fantastic. I used to eat at a little Korean restaurant in Denmark St, London. I loved the bulgogi beef, and in fact I loved all of it.

  2. Tessa says:

    Looks absolutely delicious and those chilies appear to be wickedly hot! One day I will find a quail egg supplier here in Southern Oregon…

  3. Yum! I loved that in Korea kids would eat little cups full of quails eggs as a snack in between classes. You would never see that back home in New Zealand, even aside from the fact that they’re ridiculously expensive there. So delish :) Looks like you’ve done them justice too!

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Delicious – especially the hot eggs!

  5. Jon says:

    Nice! Quail eggs plentiful and cheap in Mex City, will give it a try. Sorry to hear about the chile/eyeswipe mishap.

  6. Oh I’ve done the pepper thing before! Ouch. This looks delicious and would be wonderful with a head cold. :)

  7. A local deli in town sells quail eggs, but never sure what to do with them (other than mini scotch eggs). Interesting to see there’s specific dish that uses them – you learn something every day! Thanks.

  8. Ooh that’s a very beautiful looking and sounding salad, and I adore your chili heat definitions!

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely stuff Rosemary. The eggs are pretty spectacular.

  10. I love reading your blog because you use so many ingredients that I’ve never seen let alone had the joy of sampling. I love just imagining the exotic flavours.. What a pretty dinner!xx

  11. We don’t have quail eggs up here but it looks glorious. I adore a bit of bite in my food so this would be just the ticket.

  12. Karen says:

    Wickedly hot chilies have to be respected but it sounds like you used them in a delicious way. You must have been in pain from wiping your eyes…that had have been terrible.

  13. rsmacaalay says:

    I love Korean meat dishes, the mixture of hotness, sweetness and savoury is simply addictive

  14. That. Is. Awesome! And I agree with you: those pussy French chilis are not useful. Glad to see you got yourself some proper ones :-)

    Btw, how do you peel your eggs so cleanly?!

Leave a Reply

