Langue de Veau Laotian

IMG_1121B

I’ve talked about the nice young man at Fresh Paradise http://www.frischeparadies.eu/stores/stuttgart.html who works in the meat section of the market.  He had some German calf’s tongue that looked interesting, but I remembered preparing beef tongue and although it’s worth it, it’s a pain to remove the skin from the tongue.  The man told me, I’ve got to ask him his name, that with the calf’s tongue pre-boiling is not necessary nor is removing the skin.  He suggested that I just slice it very thin and sear it in butter.  He was a chef for 9 years so I figured he knew.  I can’t say that I wasn’t a little uneasy about this method but I was game.  Of course, I did it my way :)

IMG_1146B

In my family I was the only child who was interested in cooking and was always in the kitchen helping my Mom.  I liked making potato salad but did not like making coleslaw which was always my job.  Shredding the cabbage, grating the carrots, etc.

IMG_1036b

In France the supermarkets sell a nice fresh package of coleslaw ready vegetables and that’s what I usually use.  They don’t have that here.  But as the lady at the Burger King told Jade when she complained about having to pay for ketchup, “You’re in Germany now.”  Sounded kind of scary :)

IMG_1061b

Today’s coleslaw is Asian inspired with a spicy peanut dressing.  Good.

IMG_1096b

So how was the tongue?  Quite good.  Most of it was very tender but there was the odd piece that was a little chewy.  I think this was due to my inexpert, thin slicing.  I would have this again but I think I’ll ask the guy at Fresh Paradise to slice it for me before I leave the store :)

About 10-15 years ago, my husband’s cousin gave me 2 microplane graters.  We packed them to go back overseas with us and never saw them again.  We found them in a box here in Germany and I’m microplaning everything :)

Laotian Veal Tongue

1 veal tongue, skin on, thinly sliced

2 tbsp chopped cilantro

Juice 1/2 lemon

2 tbsp sesame seed oil

2 garlic cloves, microplaned

1/2 inch ginger, microplaned

3 tbsp sweet chili sauce

1 tbsp peanut oil

Mix the cilantro, lemon, oil, garlic, ginger and chili sauce together, then marinate the tongue in the mixture for at least 4 hours, overnight is better, in the refrigerator.

Remove the tongue from the refrigerator and stir fry with the peanut oil in a wok until cooked.

Asian Coleslaw

1/2 inch ginger, microplaned

1/2 cup rice vinegar

1 tbsp soy sauce

Juice 1/2 lemon

1 tbsp honey

2 tbsp sesame oil

1/4 cup peanut butter

1/2 head small cabbage, shredded

1 large carrot, grated

1/2 red bell pepper, thinly sliced

2 scallions, sliced on the bias

2 lethal red chillies, seeded and chopped

1 handful cilantro leaves

Blend the ginger, vinegar, soy sauce, lemon juice, honey, sesame oil and peanut butter in a blender until smooth.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, mix together the cabbage, carrot, bell pepper, scallions, chillies and cilantro.  Mix in some of the dressing to taste and refrigerate until ready to serve.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Langue de Veau Laotian

  1. I like tongue very much , but you can imagine trying to get it past the customs at La Moussiere. Ain’t going to happen. Maybe that’s why I eat cake.

  2. Jon says:

    this one sounds great. i have one of those microplane graters somewhere, good excuse to dig it out. maybe will add some fermented shrimp paste to the tongue marinade.

  3. Looks absolutely delicious! Beautiful!

  4. I’ve never cooked tongue, although I’ve had it. But this intrigues me.

    And glad you found your Microplanes – among my favorite kitchen tools.

  5. Mad Dog says:

    That sounds great – I’ll have to ask the crafty butchers for some veal tongue ;-)

  6. I’m definitely sold on the coleslaw!

  7. Looks so great even though I don’t like tongue!

  8. Michelle says:

    “You’re in Germany now.” Ouch. And you even have to pay for ketchup? Scary indeed. I was really interested when you described the recipe as Laotian. We ate at a Laotian restaurant in San Francisco ages and ages ago (it’s long gone) and have looked for another in every city we’ve visited. I think we had some sort of jerky which you squished together with sticky rice. So delicious.

  9. Tessa says:

    Great recipe and gorgeous photos! I’ve never tried preparing veal tongue before but I bet it’s absolutely delicious! I have a couple of microplane graters too… They’re awesome!

  10. Pingback: Dak Bulgogi Salad with Quail Eggs | Cooking in Sens

  11. Pingback: The Kitchen House

  12. Karen says:

    Isn’t it wonderful when you develop a nice relationship at the markets…I’m sure the butcher would be happy to slice the tongue for you next time. Your dish sounds very good.

Leave a Reply

