Filet de Truite Saumonée

IMG_0642b

Today they came to install the sheers and I didn’t have a lot of time to think through today’s meal.  I did have that nice French trout from the shopping trip at the Bischwiller Super U and found an easy recipe on line http://danslacuisinedeblanc-manger.blogspot.de/2010/05/filet-de-truite-saumonee-ginger-glace.html that I could fiddle with.

IMG_0618b

Truite saumonée is a European species of rainbow trout and is absolutely delicious!

IMG_0604b

Because I’m such a coward when it comes to city driving, I’ve had to depend on my husband to take me vegetable shopping on Saturdays; everything is closed on Sundays.  This means that towards the end of the week, unused vegetables are starting to look grim, as was this head of romanesco.

IMG_0570b

Things are about to change.  My husband just bought a used small car for me from his predecessor and we have identified a fresh vegetable market not far from our house and not far from the old town farmers’ market and my butcher.  After a couple of practice runs, I should be a happier Stuttgart camper.  And we’ve got sheers :)

IMG_0610b

Glazed Rainbow Trout

4 rainbow trout fillets

Salt and pepper

3 tbsp soy sauce

1 tbsp honey

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 inch fresh ginger, minced

1 tbsp cilantro, chopped

1 tbsp vegetable oil

Season the fish with salt and pepper.  Mix the soy sauce, honey, vinegar, garlic, cilantro and ginger together, pour over the fish and allow to marinate for 1 hour.

Remove the fish from the marinade and reserve the marinade.  Put the tablespoon of oil in a large skillet and cook the trout, turning every 2 minutes for 6-8 minutes.  Remove the trout to plates and keep warm.  Pour the reserved marinade in the skillet, boil until thickened and serve with the trout.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Filet de Truite Saumonée

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That fish looks amazing ;-)

  2. Nice Romanesco! I did a post on that yesterday. I was debating whether or not I would prefer to eat it raw or cooked. I really think this is an amazing looking vegetable and I was wondering what cooking would do to it. Did you start with bright green bunches or were they lighter like in the picture? Did they lose colour during the cooking process?

  3. God, when you said “sheers” I thought you meant giant scissors, and I was worried. Now I see what “sheers” are and now I’m worried for your daylight photography, But, I see you have set them very high, so I needn’t be worried – that’s a relief.

  4. Healthy and no doubt very tasty. Nice :)

  5. Karen says:

    Isn’t it funny about the small things that make a house a home. The shears should create lovely light for your photos. Speaking of lovely…I’d say your meal was.

  6. That looks tasty! I’ll have to try this marinade. Got some salmon in the fridge. Thanks for posting.

  7. well your shears and trout looks just beautiful! ..i just adore trout and once fishing weather finally gets here i will plan on trying this recipe… lovely post..sarah

  8. Those sheers look perfect on your nice, tall windows. And that trout is equally beautiful raw as it is cooked, though I’ll definitely have mine cooked this way, please.

  9. Tessa says:

    Looks delish! That’s one fat trout! It almost looks like steelhead or salmon.

  10. rsmacaalay says:

    I envy you as we dont have trout here, I havent tried them but my Canadian friend told me if I like salmon I would love trout

  11. Trout is a very delicious type of fish. I live in collingwood a small city in ontario and it is the nicest fish to eat plus you can do so much with it. The last time i cooked trout i did a maple glaze and was it ever goooood lol

Leave a Reply

